APhA Good Government Student Pharmacist-Of-The-Year Award

2024 Good Government Student Pharmacist-Of-The-Year Award recipient

CharLeigh Steverson, University of South Carolina

Susan Cornell, BS, Pharm.D, CDCES, FAPhA, FADCES

CharLeigh Steverson is a final year student pharmacist at the University of South Carolina. Throughout her time in pharmacy school, CharLeigh has acted as an advocate for the pharmacy profession on the national and state level. Her passion for policy and advocacy took off during her second professional year when Steverson had the opportunity to go to Capitol Hill to advocate for patients’ access to compounded hormonal replacement therapy with the Alliance for Pharmacy Compounding. Since then, her most memorable opportunity has been her position as Pharmacy Fellow on Capitol Hill for Congressman Buddy Carter.

During her experience on the Hill, CharLeigh was able to have a front row seat to the legislative process from an inside perspective. On the state level, Steverson has served as a student member of the Board of Directors for her state pharmacy association, the South Carolina Pharmacy Association (SCPhA). While sitting on the board, she created initiatives that focused on exposing students to careers within the health policy setting as well as demystifying legislation, making it easier for pharmacists and student pharmacists across her state to stay up to date on legislation.

CharLeigh is grateful to be a member of APhA as the association has afforded her numerous opportunities for professional growth. She has given back to the association through leadership as Policy Vice President, State Association Liaison, Care of Underserved Patients Advocacy Committee, and the National Policy Standing Committee. Next year, Steverson will complete an Executive Residency in Board of Pharmacy Specialties with APhA.


The award, established in 2004, recognizes a student pharmacist who successfully organizes student pharmacist grassroots activity within their chapter and actively promotes the value of advocating for the profession. The award, is based on the student's ability to raise awareness of local and national pharmacy issues while embracing the concept of teamwork and collaboration among students, practitioners, and their state pharmacy association. This award is presented twice during APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition; at the Political Leadership Reception and at the APhA-ASP House of Delegates.


Nominees must be active members of APhA-ASP and their state pharmacy association. The nominees' activities must have raised student pharmacists' awareness of current state and federal issues and made a positive impact on the pharmacy profession. Conducting coordinated responses to local bills and APhA Calls to Action, while not required, are considered important criteria. Emphasis is to be placed on students who utilize a political information "network" that include but are not limited to students, practitioners, and state association members.

Nomination Process

The nominator is responsible for submitting the award nomination packet online via Formsite. The award nomination packet includes:

  • Nomination form
  • A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
  • One letter of recommendation required; state association letter preferred
  • Description of political activities and/or supporting documentation

Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

The selection is made by the APhA-PAC Board of Governors based upon careful review of complete nominations and with the assistance of the APhA-ASP Awards Standing Committee. .

Nature of the Award

The award is presented during the APhA Political Leadership Reception held during the APhA Annual Meeting. The recipient will receive the following: (a) a $1,000 cash award, (b) an award plaque, (c) a U.S. flag previously flown over the U.S. Capitol, (d) a complimentary meeting registration, and (e) five (5) Political Leadership Reception tickets. The recipient will again be honored at the APhA-ASP House of Delegates.


  • 2023 recipients – Julia Miller, The Ohio State University
  • 2022 recipients – Sripriya Patel, Western University
  • 2021 - Isabelle Tharp, Drake University
  • 2020 - Scotty Reams, University of Kentucky
  • 2019 - Michael Harvey, Drake University
  • 2018 - Sierra Richards, University of Missouri - Kansas City
  • 2017 - Marilyn Gaske, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • 2016 - Hanna Burgin, University of Cincinnati
  • 2015 - Sarah Barden, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • 2014 - Daniel Kudryashov, University of Southern California
  • 2013 - Jonathan Magness, The University of Utah
  • 2012 - Kyle Hampson, Duquesne University
  • 2011 - Andrew Helm, Washington State University
  • 2010 - Kenneth Fletcher, Midwestern University-Glendale
  • 2009 - Suzanne Wise, University of Florida
  • 2008 - Ashley Smith, University of Louisiana at Monroe
  • 2007 - Marie Ganski, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • 2006 - Sarah Elliot, University of Washington
  • 2005 - Emily Stamos, University of Wisconsin-Madison


All nominations are due annually by December 1.