Takeru Higuchi Research Prize

The award, established in 1981 in honor of Professor Takeru Higuchi, the first president of the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research & Sciences, recognizes the highest accomplishments in pharmaceutical sciences and is international in scope and stature. 

Evaluation criteria
Scientists selected to receive the award shall have demonstrated effective and persistent efforts in pioneering a new concept applicable to the pharmaceutical sciences. Should the conceptual development which is to be recognized have been the cumulative result of collaborative effort by two or three persons, the prize may be awarded to them jointly. In no case may the prize be divided among more than three persons. A period of at least 3 years shall elapse between awards, but the award shall only be made when a worthy candidate is identified. Recipients must be an APhA member. Applications will be evaluated based upon the following criteria (listed alphabetically; not in rank order):

  • Established “stream of research”
  • International recognition
  • Leadership and other recognitions
  • New concepts/innovative research in pharmaceutical science
  • Utilization/implementation of research by the profession, research community, and other disciplines

Nomination process
The award is recognized no more than once every 3 years. APhA publishes a call for nominations for the award. The following individuals are eligible to make nominations: (a) members and former members of the Takeru Higuchi Research Prize Selection Committee; (b) previous recipients of the Takeru Higuchi Research Prize; (c) current members of the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science Executive Council; and (d) such other groups of individuals as may be identified by the committee with the approval of the APhA-APRS Executive Council. The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete nomination.

The nomination is to include the following items:

  • A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
  • The nomination should be based upon and accompanied by the writing(s) and other documents to which they refer. Other evidence in support of a nomination may be included, based on the concept originated by the nominee and relevant listings from the Citation Index. The Takeru Higuchi Research Prize Selection Committee is authorized to issue instructions to nominators when nominations are solicited.
  • Three letters from scientists qualified to judge the nominee’s contributions
  • A current full curriculum vitae or a detailed résumé of the nominee

Selection process
The Takeru Higuchi Research Prize Selection Committee shall be composed of the five most recent Presidents of the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science. The committee is authorized and charged to seek such expert advice from recognized scientists in relevant disciplines as needed for the selection process.

Nature of award
The award, presented at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition, consists of a medal and a $2,500 honorarium. The recipient also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past recipients
2021    not presented
2018    Gordon Amidon
2017    not presented
2016    not presented
2015    Philip S. Portoghese
2014    not presented
2011    Valentino J. Stella
2010    not presented
2007    Dale E. Wurster
2006    not presented
2003    Ronald T. Borchardt
2000    Leslie Z. Benet
1997    Joseph R. Robinson
1994    Milo Gibaldi
1992    John G. Wagner
1987    William I. Higuchi
1985    Sir James Black
1983    Gerhard Levy
1981    Takeru Higuchi

<< Return to Main Awards Page