Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award

2024 Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award Recipient

Jenelle L. Sobotka, PharmD, FAPhA, FFIP, FNAP

Photo of Jenelle L. Sobotka, PharmD, FAPhA, FFIP, FNAP

Jenelle Sobotka is a nationally and internationally recognized pharmacy leader.  Her various career roles and professional involvement have given her numerous experiences in advancing the pharmacist’s role in patient care and in developing strong leaders for the pharmacy profession.

Dr. Sobotka received her B.S. Pharmacy in 1987 and her Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 1989 from the University of Iowa.  Early roles included community pharmacy and VA Internal Medicine clinical specialist roles in Iowa City. Sobotka then joined the Iowa Pharmacist Association where she held roles in education program development, training and implementation of pharmaceutical care practice, and legislative advocacy for the pharmacists of Iowa.

Sobotka was then recruited to Procter & Gamble company, serving as Global Director of Professional Relations at their headquarters in Cincinnati. After 12 years at P&G, Sobotka left to join the faculty of Ohio Northern University; to support education in practice advancement and leadership development for the Doctor of Pharmacy Program.  In 2016, Sobotka was hired by the University of Cincinnati to develop their new Graduate Program in Pharmacy Leadership. In addition to teaching this fully online MS and Graduate Certificate program in Pharmacy Leadership, Sobotka also leads the course content on leadership development for their PharmD program.  

Sobotka has also had extensive volunteer involvement with pharmacy associations at the state, national and international level. She was elected to 2012-13 President of the American Pharmacists Association. Sobotka also has over 20 years of global experience with the Federation of International Pharmacists (FIP); currently serving as Chairman to the Board of the FIP Foundation and formerly as Treasurer to their Academic Section. She was also the 2019-20 Chair of the Leadership Development SIG for the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

Sobotka has given numerous national and international presentations on pharmacy, as well as published several articles, book chapters and co-authored a book, A Practical Guide to Pharmaceutical Care. Sobotka was Director of the Iowa Center for Pharmaceutical Care (ICPC) that received the APhA Foundation’s Pinnacle Award for their work to advance patient care practice. Sobotka has received several honors and awards including the 2020 University of Cincinnati Faculty Excellence Award, the Kappa Epsilon National Career Achievement award and is a Fellow with the Federation for International Pharmacists, the American Pharmacists Association, the Hong Kong Academy of Pharmacy and the National Academies of Practice for health care professionals.


This award recognizes an individual who has promoted and encouraged pharmacists to attain leadership positions within pharmacy through example as role model and mentor. The pharmacist for whom the award is named – Gloria Niemeyer Francke, PharmD – personally exemplified the award’s criteria. Gloria Niemeyer Francke, 1986 APhA Honorary President and 1987 Remington Honor Medalist, inspired and mentored future leaders throughout her illustrious pharmacy career.

Evaluation Criteria

Any APhA member whose efforts or activities have significantly contributed to promoting leadership in others is eligible for this award. The recipient of the APhA Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award will be an individual who has promoted and encouraged pharmacists to attain leadership positions within pharmacy through example as a role model and as a mentor. Nominations must be made by an APhA Member. Remington Honor Medalists are not eligible.

Nomination process

The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination.

The nomination is to include the following items:

A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award

Letters of recommendation are optional; two letters are preferred with a maximum of six accepted letters

A current curriculum vitae or detailed résumé

Selection process

The selection is made by the past recipients of the award.

Nature of award

The award consists of a crystal memento bearing the likeness of the APhA building and the name of the recipient, a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration, and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past recipients

2023 Kimberly Broedel-Zaugg, BS Pharm, MBA, PhD

2022 Nanci Murphy

2021 Albert Wertheimer

2020 Nancy Alvarez

2019 Milap Nahata

2018 Lucinda Maine

2017 Thomas P. Reinders

2016 Michael A. Moné

2015 Todd D. Sorensen

2014 Ralph L. Saroyan

2013 Douglas A. Miller

2012 Cynthia J. Boyle

2011 Julie K. Johnson

2010 Barbara G. Wells

2009 Marialice S. Bennett

2008 Rebecca P. Snead

2007 Nicholas G. Popovich

2006 Colonel John D. Grabenstein

2005 Metta Lou Henderson

2004 Sister Margaret Wright

2003 Mary L. Euler

2002 Marianne R. Rollings

2001 William A. Hopkins, Jr.

2000 Dennis J. McCallian

1999 Melinda C. Joyce

1998 William Arlyn Kloesel

1997 JoLaine R. Draugalis

1996 Rebecca Wheeler Chater

1995 Thomas R. Temple

Return to Main Awards Page