APhA House of Delegates


APhA Speaker-elect Election

Speaker-elect elections officially open April 10 at 12 pm - April 20 at 12 pm ET.

Mary S. Klein, PharmD, BCACP
Abilene, TX

Dr. Mary Klein is an Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice at the TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy, and the Director of Practice Labs and Simulation for the school’s Abilene campus. She received her Pharm.D. from Texas Tech in 2007, and completed a community-based ambulatory care residency through Scott and White Health Plan and Clinics and the University of Texas at Austin in 2008. Dr. Klein joined the faculty at Texas Tech in Fall 2008. Currently, Dr. Klein teaches in the immunizations, patient assessment, and law courses, and practices in primary care on an interprofessional team at Abilene Community Health Center. She recently completed her term as Immediate Past President of the Texas Pharmacy Association, where she served on the Board of Directors for twelve years, and as their Speaker of House in 2010. She has been a member of APhA since 2003, has served as a delegate in the House since 2009, and has served on the New Business Review and the House Rules Review Committees in the past. Outside of pharmacy, Dr. Klein enjoys craft projects, community service through the Junior League of Abilene, and spending time on her family’s ranch.

Melissa Skelton Duke, PharmD, MS, BCPS, FAPhA
Phoenix, AZ

Melissa (Missy) Skelton Duke, PharmD, MS, BCPS, FAPhA earned a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of New Mexico, and a Master of Science degree in Pharmacy Administration from the University of Utah. As a former Speaker of the APhA-ASP House of Delegates, Missy has remained committed to serving the profession of pharmacy throughout her career and has been honored to serve on three APhA Policy Committees, two APhA Policy Review Committees, one APhA New Business Review Committee, and as a volunteer leader for the APhA Institute on Substance Use Disorders. Believing in the critical role that state-level pharmacy leadership plays in practice advancement and innovation, Missy is also an active member of her state association and has served in a variety of state-level leadership roles, including President of the Utah Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Missy has practice and leadership experience in health-system, specialty, ambulatory, and population health pharmacy services. In her current role as the Executive Director of Population Health Pharmacy Solutions at Banner Health, she is responsible for designing and delivering innovative pharmacy programs in primary care, oncology, transplant, and other specialty areas. She has experience building pharmacist-provided services through fee-for-service and contracted service payment models. She collaborates with payers, employers, and health plans to align benefits, build member engagement strategies, and deploy technology solutions that improve patient experience and health outcomes. Her passion is improving access to pharmacist-provided care, creating demand for pharmacy services, and generating opportunities for pharmacists as essential healthcare providers.

Current Speaker

Official APhA policy is developed by the APhA House of Delegates. Comprised of delegates from state pharmacy associations, APhA membership academies, affiliated organizations, recognized pharmacy organizations, and ex-officio groups, the House of Delegates meet during the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition to debate and adopt policy proposals developed throughout the year. The House sessions are presided over by the Speaker of the House of Delegates.


Joey Mattingly
Current Speaker of the House of Delegates
Term: 2019-2021






2017 Policy Manual
Policy Manual

Stay up-to-date on current APhA adopted policy. 

Online Policy Manual 

Download the 2019 Policy Manual



2020 House Webinar Opportunities

Participate in an upcoming webinar 

Virtual House Session Materials 
House Committee Reports
Plan Ahead for the 2020 House