Linwood F. Tice Friend of APhA-ASP Award

Formerly known as the "APhA Friend of ASP Award," this award was established in 1988 to recognize an individual whose long-term services and contributions have benefited the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA–ASP), and thereby, student pharmacists in general. The award was renamed in 1994 to honor Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science Dean Emeritus and APhA Past President Dr. Linwood F. Tice who, in his capacity as Chairman of the APhA Committee on Student Branches in 1952–55, was instrumental in the formation of the APhA organizational unit that evolved into APhA–ASP


APhA thrives on member involvement. Support the profession by committing to make a difference. Find information here on how to serve your association.

Nomination Process

The nominator is responsible for submitting the award nomination packet online via Formsite.The award nomination packet includes:

  • Nomination form
  • A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
  • Three letters of recommendation are required; a maximum of 6 letters accepted
  • A current CV or detailed résumé

For individuals not selected as the recipient of this award, nominators have the opportunity to have packets forwarded to the following year’s Awards Standing Committee for their review. APhA Student Development Staff will contact the nominator each year prior to the deadline to obtain approval for re-nomination and to update any nomination materials. Packets will be forwarded for a maximum of 4 consecutive years.

Submit a Nomination

Selection Process

The selection is made by the APhA–ASP Awards Standing Committee based upon careful review of complete nominations.

Nature of the Award

The recipient receives a distinctive, crystal award, along with the following: a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA


  • 2023 recipient – Cameron C. Lindsey
  • 2022 recipient – Michael B. Doherty
  • 2021—Nancy A. Alvarez
  • 2020—No Award Presented
  • 2019—Tery Baskin
  • 2018—No Award Presented
  • 2017—Michel B. Disco
  • 2016—Stephanie J. Phelps
  • 2015—Donald J. Floriddia
  • 2014—Marialice Bennett
  • 2013—Kenneth M. Hale
  • 2012—Joseph L. Fink III
  • 2011—Michael A. Moné
  • 2010—April Shaughnessy
  • 2009—Charles J. Broussard
  • 2008—Valerie T. Prince
  • 2007—Charles K. Born
  • 2006—Robert L. Day
  • 2005—Charles C. Thomas
  • 2004—Lucinda L. Maine
  • 2003—Andrew V. Young
  • 2002—Salvatore J. Giorgianni
  • 2001—RADM Fred G. Paavola
  • 2000—William D. French
  • 1999—Ralph V. Foster
  • 1998—Dennis B. Worthen
  • 1997—Ralph L. Saroyan
  • 1996—Elliott M. Sogol
  • 1995—Donald L. Sorby
  • 1994—Kenneth Leibowitz
  • 1993—Mary Louise Andersen
  • 1992—R. Paul Baumgartner
  • 1991—Allen J. Brands
  • 1990—Alice E. Kimball
  • 1989—Paul E. Freiman


All nominations are due annually by December 1.