Kilmer Prize

Kilmer Prize
This award, established in 1935 in honor of Frederick Barnett Kilmer, former director of the laboratories of Johnson & Johnson, New Brunswick, New Jersey, and APhA member, is presented for a paper reporting meritorious work in pharmacognosy or natural products by an undergraduate or graduate student pharmacist. The award is administered and supported jointly by APhA and the American Society of Pharmacognosy (ASP). More information from ASP can be found here:
Nomination criteria
Both undergraduate and graduate students in schools or colleges of pharmacy are eligible for this award. The student does not have to be a member of either APhA or ASP.
Nomination and submission process
Applications should be submitted via e-mail to the Chair of the American Society of Pharmacognosy Awards and Funds Committee ( Applications should include: 
• A cover letter including contact information and e-mail address.
• A research paper describing his or her own work in the area of natural products. The research paper should conform in general to the format of the Journal of Natural Products.
• Accompanying the paper must be a sealed envelope containing the address of the applicant and a certified statement from an officer of the institution that the applicant is a regularly registered undergraduate or graduate student in an accredited college or school of pharmacy in the United States.
Selection process
Papers are reviewed and judged by the ASP.
Nature of award
The award, presented at the ASP annual meeting, consists of a gold plated lapel pin, suitably inscribed, bearing the likeness of Frederick Barnett Kilmer. APhA and the ASP provide up to $700 to enable the recipient to attend the meeting.
Past recipients:

2017    Fatma AlAwadhi

2016    No Award Given

2015    No Award Given

2014    K. H. Almabruk

2012    Lilibeth Salvador

2011    HahkSoo Kang

2010    Ahmed Elnager

2009    Mohamed Donia

2007    Sandeep Jain

2006    Marcy Balunas

2005    Swapnali Sawant

2004    Haidy Kamel

2003    Laura C. Johansmann

2001    Ran Xu

2000    Nirmal Pugh

1998    LengChee Chang

1997    Nicholas H. Oberlies

1996    Choo Yaw Ang

1994    Gengzian Zhao

1993    Xinping Fang

1992    Wenwen Ma

1990    Ghee Teng Tan

1989    Siyu Liu

1988    Elizabeth Trytek

1986    Tannis MaCaulay Jurgens

1985    Mark T. Gill

1984    Stephanie Ann Sweetana

1983    Pamela L. Boner

1979    Cathy C. Collins

1977    Dennis E. Darling

1976    Christopher J. Linden

1975    Gaetana Forte

<< Return to Main Awards Page