Wiederholt Prize for Best Published Paper Award for Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences (ESAS)

The APhA Best Published Paper Award for Economic, Social, and Administrative Sciences was established in 1996. In 2002, it was renamed the Wiederholt Prize in honor of Joseph B. Wiederholt, PhD (1949-2001). Dr. Wiederholt was the first recipient of the award and a professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The purpose of the award is to recognize the best published paper in the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA) that describes original investigation in economic, social, or administrative sciences related to pharmacy.

Evaluation criteria

The primary author must be an APhA Member. The paper need not have been presented before the Association. The paper must represent original research, and must have been published in JAPhA within 2 calendar years prior to the screening deadline (September 1 of the year before the presentation of the award). Papers will be evaluated based upon the quality of the science and translation of the research to the practice of pharmacy.

Nomination/screening process

The ESAS Section Officers of APhA-APRS will screen all ESAS-related articles published in JAPhA, and select and submit finalists to the APhA-APRS Awards Committee by the screening deadline.

Selection process

The selection is made by the APhA-APRS Awards Committee. 

Nature of award

The award, presented at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition, consists an engraved plaque for the primary author of the selected paper, plus an engraved plaque for each of the associated authors, if any. The primary author also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past recipients

2022  Kyle Melin, Claudia R. Hilera-Botet, Dializza Vega-Vélez, Valeria M. Salgado-Crespo, Darlene Santiago, Jonathan Hernández-Agosto, Aryam Muñoz-Burgos, Zaritza Cajigas, José Javier Martínez-Vélez, Carlos E. Rodríguez-Díaz

2021  Kenneth C. Hohmeier, Shane P. Desselle

2020  Yiran Zhang, William R. Doucette

2019  Karen Suchanek Hudmon, Robin L. Corelli, Carl de Moor, Alan J. Zillich, Christine Fenlon, Lyndsay Miles, Alexander V. Prokhorov, Susan M. Zbikowski

2018 Olufunmilola Abraham, Amanda Brothers, Dayna S. Alexander, and Delesha M. Carpenter

2017 Brandon J. Patterson, Peter J. Kaboli, Traviss Tubbs, Bruce Alexander, and Brian C. Lund

2016 Pamela Heaton, Heidi Luder, and Namita Tundia

2015  David A. Holdford and Timothy J. Inocencio

2014  Bonnie L. Svarstad, Jane Morley Kotchen, Theresa I. Shireman, Roger L. Brown, Stephanie Y. Crawford, Jeanine K. Mount, Pamela A. Palmer, Eva M. Vivian, and Dale A. Wilson

2013  Carole Kimberlin, Allison Newland Jamison, Stephan Linden, and Almut G. Winterstein

2012  Melinda E. Kozminski, Rachelle Busby, Melissa Somma McGivney, Patricia M. Klatt, Stephanie R. Hackett, and Joel H. Merenstein

2011  Beth A. Martin, Ruth H. Bruskiewitz, and Betty A. Chewning

2010  Elizabeth A. Flynn, Kenneth N. Barker, Bruce A. Berger, Kimberly B. Lloyd, and Patrick D. Brackett

2009  Barry A. Bunting, Benjamin H. Smith, and Susan E. Sutherland

2008  Nancy F. Fjortoft

2007  Bruce A. Berger

2006  Bonnie L. Svarstad

2005  Elizabeth A. Chrischilles

2004  Carole W. Cranor and Dale D. Christensen

2003  Dale Christensen, Nancy Neil, William E. Fassett, David H. Smith, Garth Holmes, and Andy Stergachis

2002  Julie M. Ganther and David H. Kreling

2001  Caroline A. Gaither

2000  Scott R. Smith and Duane M. Kirking

1999  Folakemi T. Odedina, Charles D. Hepler, Richard Segal, and M. David Miller

1998  Bruce L. Lambert

1997  Jon C. Schommer and Joseph B. Wiederholt

<< Return to Main Awards Page