Good Government Pharmacist-Of-The-Year Award

2023 Award Recipient

Corrie Sanders, PharmD

Photo of Corrie Sanders, PharmD


The award, established in 1990, recognizes an individual pharmacist who actively contributes to the community through involvement in the political process.

Nomination criteria

The nominee must be a pharmacist who is an APhA member and a state pharmacy association member. APhA and state association staff members, lobbyists, and state or federal officials are not eligible. The government affairs activity in which the nominee participated must have raised pharmacists’ awareness of the political process and improved the pharmacy profession and the political process, as well as improved service and education to the patient.

Nomination process

The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination.

The nomination is to include the following items:

A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award

Letters of recommendation are optional; two letters are preferred with a maximum of six accepted letters

A current curriculum vitae or detailed résumé

Selection process

The selection is made by the APhA-PAC Board of Governors based upon careful review of complete nominations.

Nature of award

The recipient will receive a crystal eagle sculpture and a U.S. flag previously flown over the U.S. Capitol building. The recipient will also receive the following: a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA, and five APhA-PAC Reception tickets. The award is presented during the APhA Political Leadership Reception held during the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition.

Past Recipients

2022 Stephen Carroll

2021 Veronica Vernon

2020 Brian Komoto

2019 Julie Akers

2018 Cortney Mospan

2017 Michael Blaire

2016 Nicki L. Hilliard

2015 Sandra Leal

2014 Not presented

2013 Not presented

2012 Trish Rippetoe Freeman

2011 Betsy Meredith Elswick

2010 Norman P. Tomaka

2009 LeAnn Causey Boyd

2008 Cynthia J. Boyle

2007 Jennifer Fix

2006 Matthew C. Osterhaus

2005 Susan L. Sutter

2004 Theresa L. Wells-Tolle

2003 Brian Kaatz

2002 Richard N. Herrier

2001 Timothy Neal Bishop

2000 Paige Clark

1999 Not awarded

1998 Nancy A. Alvarez

1997 Jerry Karbeling

1996 Joseph E. McSoley

1995 Cynthia L.W. Warriner

1994 S. Mark Hobbs

1993 Michael D. Pflughoeft

1992 Michael A. Pastrick

Return to Main Awards Page