Thomas E. Menighan Pharmacy Management Excellence Award

2024 Thomas E. Menighan Pharmacy Management Excellence Award Recipient

John Clay Kirtley, PharmD, FAPhA

John Clay Kirtley, PharmD, FAPhA

John Clay Kirtley, Pharm.D., FAPhA, completed his pre-pharmacy coursework at Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, AR and graduated from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, College of Pharmacy with his Doctor of Pharmacy. As a student, he was an active leader in the American Pharmacists Association – Academy of Student Pharmacists on the local, regional, and national level, namely as the APhA-ASP National President-elect, President, and as a member of the APhA Board-of-Trustees. As a pharmacist, he has taken an active role in the mentoring of future pharmacists through his work as a community pharmacist, Assistant Professor at UAMS College of Pharmacy and as a preceptor for many years. In his current position, John serves as the Executive Director of the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy with the most amazing coworkers and colleagues anyone could ever hope for. John currently serves as a member and Past President of the Accreditation Council on Pharmacy Education’s Board of Directors, as the President of MALTAGON, a Professional Association of Boards of Pharmacy across the Southeast US and President of NABP/AACP District VI. John and his wife Melanie, who is also a pharmacist, live in Little Rock, Arkansas with their children Allison and Jack.


The Humphrey Award, named for the noted pharmacist, long-time APhA member, and public servant (senator from Minnesota and U.S. Vice President) was established in 1978 to recognize APhA members who have made major contributions in government and/or legislative service.

Evaluation criteria

Nominees must be a pharmacist member of APhA and a member of APhA-APPM and must have distinguished himself/herself and the profession of pharmacy by sustained outstanding performance and achievement in pharmacy management. Remington Medalists are not eligible for this award. Nominees will be evaluated based upon the following criteria (listed alphabetically; not in rank order):

APhA related activities

Awards and recognition

Community service

Impact on practice & profession

Participation in other professional associations

Nomination process

The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination.

The nomination is to include the following items:

A letter of nomination describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award

One letter of recommendation from someone other than the nominator is required, up to two letters are accepted

A current curriculum vitae or detailed resume

Selection process

The selection is made by the APhA-APPM Awards Committee based upon careful review of the complete nominations and criteria as listed above. Particular attention will be given to the individual’s impact on the profession.

Nature of award

The award is presented at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition and consists of a recognition piece and pin. The recipient also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past Recipients

2022 Julie M. Akers

2021 Ernest E. Boyd

2020 James A. Kirby

2019 Brian Hille

2018 Brian Komoto

2017 Theresa Tolle

2016 William F. Sheridan II

2015 Michael D. Hogue

2014 Timothy Stroup

2013 Eric Shalita

Return to Main Awards Page