Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award

2024 Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award Recipient

Cherokee Layson-Wolf, PharmD, BCACP, FAPhA

Cherokee Layson-Wolf, PharmD, BCACP, FAPhA

Cherokee Layson-Wolf, PharmD, BCACP, FAPhA is currently a professor at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy. She most recently completed a ten-year term as associate dean of student affairs, and continues to be highly engaged in teaching and mentorship of student pharmacists. Early in her career, Cherokee helped champion efforts to support and expand pharmacist-provided vaccinations in Maryland and has served as an immunization trainer since 2006. She has had over 20 years of experience in training and mentoring student pharmacists as an educator and also as a co-advisor for the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy APhA-ASP chapter, with her goal to support student pharmacists’ professional development and also engagement with APhA. Cherokee also served as a PGY-1 community-based residency program director for 12 years and continues to precept community residents in teaching and research. Cherokee has always valued the important role that pharmacy associations provide in supporting the profession, and also understands that a majority of that that work is completed by volunteer leaders. It has been important to Cherokee to continue to give back to the profession through service at the state and national level. She has held numerous positions with the Maryland Pharmacists Association, including serving as president from 2017-2018. With the American Pharmacists Association, she has served the association in numerous areas including serving as APhA-ASP co-advisor, participating in various advisory groups and task forces, poster and abstract reviewer, delegate, presenter and moderator. Outside of pharmacy, Cherokee loves traveling with her family traveling and supporting their work in music and the arts.


The Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award, in honor of the first president of the American Pharmaceutical Association, is APhA’s premier practice award to recognize a pharmacy practitioner in any practice setting, who has distinguished himself/herself and the profession by outstanding performance.

Evaluation criteria

The nominee for the Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award must be a pharmacist who is a member of APhA, an APhA-APPM member, and a pharmacy practitioner in any practice setting who has distinguished himself/herself and the profession of pharmacy by sustained outstanding performance and achievement. Remington Honor Medalists are not eligible for the award. Nomination and recommendation letters should include a description of the nominee’s impact on practice and the profession. Applications will be evaluated based upon the following criteria (listed alphabetically; not in rank order):

APhA related activities (leadership, committees, speaker, publication contributor/reviewer, etc.)

Awards and recognition (state/national/university)

Community service (government, religious, civic, etc.)

Impact on the nominee’s area of practice and on the profession (innovative practice, scholarly activities)

Participation in other professional associations (leadership, committee, etc.)

Nomination process

The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination.

The nomination is to include the following items:

A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award

One letter of recommendation is required; a maximum of two letters accepted

A current curriculum vitae or detailed résumé

Selection process

The selection is made by the APhA-APPM Awards Committee based upon careful review of complete nominations and criteria as listed above.

Nature of award

The award, to be presented at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition, consists of a 14K gold diamond ring in a presentation case. The recipient will also receive a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA. The award is endowed by Bristol-Meyer Squibb Company.

Recipients of the APhA Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award

2022 Brian Komoto

2021 Stuart Beatty

2020 Joseph J. Saseen

2019 Betty J. Dong

2018 Bella Mehta

2017 Mary Ann Kliethermes

2016 Jonathan Marquess

2015 Cynthia J. Boyle

2014 Allen Nichol

2013 Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner

2012 Steven T. Simenson

2011 Jean-Venable “Kelly” R. Goode

2010 Daniel E. Buffington

2009 Samuel C. Augustine

2008 George H. Hinkle

2007 Randy P. McDonough

2006 Marie A. Chisholm

2005 Ralph E. Small

2004 Dennis K. Helling

2003 James A. Ponto

2002 Mary Anne Koda-Kimble

2001 Michael R. Cohen

2000 Stanley M. Shaw

1999 Marialice Bennett

1998 Charles R. Green

1997 Ray Edward Marcrom

1997 Ray Edward Marcrom

1995 William H. Briner

Recipients Of The Daniel B. Smith Award

1994 James B. Hills

1993 Robert E. Listecki

1992 John T. Bailey

1991 John H. Vandel

1990 Evelyn D. Timmons

1989 Donald. L. Beck

1988 Margaret C. Yarborough

1987 Ron Gieser

1986 Calvin H. Knowlton

1985 John W. Hasty

1984 Max Stollman

1983 Carl F. Emswiller, Jr.

1982 Mario Casinelli

1981 Robert L. Snively

1980 Joseph A. Mosso

1979 Howard L. Dell

1978 Emil W. Baker

1977 William R. Bacon

1976 Donald J. Wernik

1975 Morris Boynoff

1974 Kenneth E. Tiemann

1973 Martin Rein

1972 Paul Lofholm

1971 Wallace S. Klein

1970 William F. Appel

1969 David J. Krigstein

1968 Arnold L. Snyder

1967 James Moore

1966 Raymond Dunn

1965 Eugene V. White

Recipients of the APhA Practice Excellence Award

1994 Frederick S. Mayer

1993 Grover C. Bowles, Jr

1992 D. Stephen Crawford


*In 1993, APhA-APPM recommended the merging of the Daniel B. Smith Award and the Practice Excellence Award so as to have one premier APhA practitioner award. The APhA Board of Trustees approved this recommendation in 1994. The first combined award was presented in 1995.

Return to Main Awards Page