House Officers Biographies


Missy Duke

Current Speaker of the House of Delegates

Term: 2021-2023


Brandi Hamilton

Current Speaker-elect of the House of Delegates

Term: 2022-2025

Melissa "Missy" Skelton Duke, PharmD, MS, BCPS, FAPhA, APhA Speaker of the House of Delegates

Melissa (Missy) Skelton Duke, PharmD, MS, BCPS, FAPhA earned a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of New Mexico, and a Master of Science degree in Pharmacy Administration from the University of Utah. As a former Speaker of the APhA-ASP House of Delegates, Missy has remained committed to serving the profession of pharmacy throughout her career and has been honored to serve on three APhA Policy committees, two APhA Policy Review Committees, one APhA New Business Review Committee, and as a volunteer leader for the APhA Institute of Substance Use Disorders. Believing in the critical role that state-level pharmacy leadership plays in practice advancement and innovation, Missy is also an active member of her state association and has served in a variety of state-level leadership roles, including President of the Utah Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Missy has practice and leadership experience in health-system, specialty ambulatory, and population health pharmacy services. In her current role as the Executive Director of Population Health Pharmacy Solutions at Banner Health, she is responsible for designing and delivering innovative pharmacy programs in primary care, oncology, transplant, and other specialty areas. She has experience building pharmacist-provided services through fee-for-service and contracted service payment models. She collaborates with payers, employers, and health plans to align benefits, build member engagement strategies, and deploy technology solutions that improve patent experience and health outcomes. Her passion is improving access to pharmacist-provided care, creating demand for pharmacy services, and generating opportunities for pharmacists as essential health care providers.

Brandi Hamilton, PharmD, MS, BCPS, APhA Speaker-elect of the House of Delegates

Dr. Hamilton is currently the director of Pharmacy at California Rehabilitation Institute, a 138-bed acute physical rehabilitation hospital where she is enhancing safe medication practice, promoting opioid stewardship, optimizing, and leveraging technology, and advancing pharmacist practice across the continuum of care. She earned a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy and a Master of Science degree in Pharmacy Leadership and Administration from the University of Houston College of Pharmacy.

She began her career in pharmacy over 20 years ago as a pharmacy technician and has since become a leader in the profession. Her work is dedicated to the development and advancement of pharmacists and their integration into the health care team, focusing on individual strengths and how they contribute to a team and organization.

Hamilton's service to the profession of pharmacy and APhA began early as a student, where she served as APhA-ASP National President. During her tenure on the APhA-ASP National Executive Committee, Hamilton supported the launch of the APhA Back the PAC program and distribution of popular APhA-PAC tumblers to promote professional advocacy among student pharmacists.

As a current delegate to the APhA House of Delegates and member of the APhA Pharmacy Today Editorial Advisory Board, Dr. Hamilton has remained committed to serving the profession of pharmacy throughout her career. She has been engaged with APhA in the following elected and appointed positions: New Business Review Committee, Chair (2020–2021), Policy Reference Committee(2019), House of Delegates Committee on Nominations (2017–2018), New Practitioner Editorial Advisory Board (2017–2018), New Practitioner Advisory Committee (2016-2017), New Business Review Committee (2016–2017), Policy Review Committee (2015–2016), Board of Trustees Strategic Directions Committee (2013–2015), Board of Trustees Member (2013–2014)

As Speaker-elect, Dr. Hamilton will serve as an Officer in the APhA House of Delegates and assist current APhA Speaker of the House of Delegates Melissa Skelton Duke, PharmD, MS, BCPS, FAPhA, in the direction of the APhA Policy Process. The Speaker-elect serves a one-year term before taking over as speaker of the House and Trustee for two years. Dr. Hamilton will assume the position of speaker at the end of the 2023 House of Delegates in Phoenix, AZ.

Joseph L. Fink III, B.S., Pharm., J.D., House of Delegates Parliamentarian

Joseph L. Fink III is Professor of Pharmacy Law and Policy at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy, and Professor of Public Health at the University. In addition, he is a Professor of Health Administration in the Martin School of Public Policy and Administration, a unit he served as Acting Director during 1998. Finally, he has a faculty appointment as Professor of Clinical Leadership and Management in the UK College of Health Sciences. He received his professional education in pharmacy at the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science and holds the degree Juris Doctor from Georgetown University Law Center, where he was Chairman of the Moot Court Board. He is licensed to practice pharmacy in Kentucky and Pennsylvania and has been admitted to the practice of law in Kentucky and Pennsylvania as well as before the United States Supreme Court.

His scholarly works include 380 publications in the fields of law pertaining to pharmacy, pharmacists and pharmaceuticals, food and drug law, and health care law. His teaching includes a pharmacy course focusing on the law applicable to pharmacists, pharmacies, and pharmaceuticals as well as health law courses taught to undergraduate and graduate students in health administration.

He has served the APhA House of Delegates as Parliamentarian since 2000.

Scott Knoer, MS, PharmD, FASHP, Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer

Scott Knoer is the 13th Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Pharmacists Association. He received his BA in psychology from Creighton University in 1988 and his PharmD from the University of Nebraska in 1996. He completed a 2-year administrative residency with a concurrent MS degree in hospital pharmacy from the University of Kansas in 1998.

Before his current leadership role at APhA, Dr. Knoer was the Chief Pharmacy Officer at the Cleveland Clinic from 2011 to 2020, where he led an international pharmacy enterprise with a $1.4 billion dollar drug budget and 1,558 FTEs in 18 hospitals with facilities in Ohio, Florida, and Nevada; Toronto; London; and Abu Dhabi.

After graduation from pharmacy school, he was an Operations Manager at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston for 3 years. Moving to Minnesota, he was the Director of Pharmacy at the University of Minnesota Medical Center, Fairview, for a decade before being recruited to the Cleveland Clinic in 2011.

Dr. Knoer has served the profession extensively through involvement in professional organizations at the local, state, and national levels. He is published widely on a variety of pharmacy and leadership topics. He is a frequent invited lecturer to state, national, and international audiences. He is often quoted as a health care expert on a broad array of topics in newspaper, radio, and television outlets.

Dr. Knoer is a passionate advocate for patients and the profession of pharmacy. He has successfully lobbied boards of pharmacy in Ohio and Minnesota to allow the advancement of pharmacy practice, and he has led initiatives that changed Ohio and federal law related to the elevation of pharmacy practice and reducing the impact of drug shortages.

Back to the House of Delegates Main Page