Press Releases


Published on Tuesday, January 24, 2023

APhA Announces 2023 Remington Medal Recipient

Washington, DC—The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) announced the selection of the 2023 APhA Awards and Honors Program recipients today. The APhA Awards and Honors Program is the most comprehensive recognition program in the profession of pharmacy. All honorees in the professionwide, practitioner, research, and student categories can be found on APhA’s awards website, which will be updated with additional information for each recipient leading up to their official recognition at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition in Phoenix on March 24–27, 2023.

The Remington Honor Medal was named for eminent community pharmacist, manufacturer, and educator Joseph P. Remington and was established in 1918 to recognize distinguished service on behalf of American pharmacy during the preceding years that culminates in the past year or during a long period of outstanding activity or fruitful achievement. It serves as the preeminent award for the profession of pharmacy and is the highest honor bestowed by APhA.

Henri R. Manasse, Jr., PhD, ScD (Hon.), FFIP, of Downers Grove, IL, was selected as the recipient of the 2023 Remington Honor Medal. Manasse has served in many roles throughout his accomplished career and is currently a professor and dean emeritus of the University of Illinois at Chicago, College of Pharmacy. Manasse previously served for 14 years as executive vice president and CEO at the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists following more than 30 years of experience in numerous other positions within academia and public policy. Manasse is a pharmacy graduate of the University of Illinois at the Medical Center. He received his master’s degree from Loyola University, and he was the first PhD graduate of the University of Minnesota’s Social and Administrative Pharmacy graduate program.

Manasse was selected for this honor due to his extensive service to the profession as a leader who touched many areas of pharmacy practice and education.

Manasse’s nominators described his impact on the profession of pharmacy as having been broadly influential in defining an elevated role of pharmacists in society and supporting the advancement of education to fulfill this role. Additionally, Manasse’s efforts to educate and collaborate with health care leaders, government officials, and other groups outside of pharmacy have expanded the ability for pharmacists to provide enhanced, collaborative patient care.

Another nominator described Manasse as having been at the forefront of pharmacy advancement that also included a global impact through leadership positions with the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP). Lastly, through almost 200 publications or contributions to journals or textbooks he has provided extensive review, analysis, and direction for the profession, which has advanced the profession of pharmacy and its external recognition.

Manasse is joined by over 50 other pharmacists, researchers, students, or organizations as 2023 APhA award recipients. All recipients can be found on APhA’s awards website.

Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (3384)
Please login or register to post comments.