Press Releases


Published on Monday, January 24, 2022

APhA Academies and SIGs announce 2022 Election Slate

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Academy of Pharmaceutical Research & Science (APhA–APRS) and Academy of Pharmacy Practice & Management (APhA–APPM) today announced the election slate for the 2022 APhA Elections.

APhA–APPM also announced the Special Interest Groups (SIGs) election slate for the 2022 APhA Elections. The APhA–APPM SIGs are member-driven groups focused on key areas of interest.

The elections for these positions will be held March 18–April 18, 2022.

Ballots for the Executive Committees and Sections of APhA–APPM and APhA–APRS and for the APhA–APPM SIGs will be emailed to members on the afternoon of Friday, March 18, 2022, along with ballots for candidates for APhA’s upcoming Board of Trustees elections. Further election and candidate information is available online at the APhA election webpage.

No applications were received for the 2022 APhA Election for the following APhA–APRS positions: Basic Sciences Section Chair-elect and Clinical Sciences Section Chair-elect. The APhA–APRS Executive Committee is currently evaluating the Academy structure to enhance member engagement. At this time, unfilled election positions will not impact the Academy’s efforts to serve their members in the coming year. The APhA Board of Trustees and APhA–APRS Executive Committee will assess and determine the appropriate course of action in advance of the 2023 APhA Election to ensure leadership succession planning is in place for future years. For any questions, please contact APhA Staff Margaret Tomecki (


APhA–APRS President-elect
Henry Young, PhD, BS, of Athens, GA

APhA–APRS Postgraduate Officer
Tyler Wagner, PharmD, RPh, of Richmond, VA

APhA–APRS Economic, Social, and Administrative Sciences Section Chair-elect

Stephanie Gernant, PharmD, MS, of Willimantic, CT

Michael Gionfriddo, PharmD, PhD, of Pittsburgh, PA

APhA–APPM Executive Committee Member-at-large

Pair One:

Kari Allan, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS, of Pikesville, MD
Bethany Sibbitt, PharmD, BCOP, of Dayton, OH

Pair Two:

Gretchen Garofoli, PharmD, BCACP, CTTS, of Morgantown, WV
Amanda Ward, PharmD, MS, BCGP, of Louisa, KY

Pair Three:

Danielle Candelario, PharmD, BCPS, of North Chicago, IL
Phung On, PharmD, RPh, BCPS, of Boston, MA

APhA-APPM New Practitioner Officer

Austin Green, PharmD, MPH, BCPS, AAHIVP, Sacramento, CA

Christine Hong, PharmD, BA Psychology, Waco, TX

APhA–APPM Care of Underserved Patients Special Interest Group Coordinator-elect

Chiamaka Adadey, BS, PharmD, of Baltimore, MD
Tom Bateman, PharmD, of Philadelphia, PA

APhA–APPM Compounding Special Interest Group Coordinator-elect

Suzanne Kluge, BS, RPh, BCSCP, MBA, FNHIA, of Wheaton, IL
Matt Martin, PharmD, BCSCP, of Crestwood, KY

APhA–APPM Diabetes Management Special Interest Group Coordinator-elect

Bernadette Asias,-Dinh, PharmD, BCACP, BCPS, CDCES, of Houston, TX

APhA–APPM Immunizing Pharmacists Special Interest Group Coordinator-elect

Danielle Kieck, PharmD, of Mountain Top, PA
Laura Knockel, PharmD, BCACP, of Iowa City, IA

APhA–APPM Medical Home/ACO Special Interest Group Coordinator-elect

Amy Thompson, PharmD, BCACP, of Ann Arbor, MI

APhA–APPM Medication Management Special Interest Group Coordinator-elect

Jessica DiLeo, PharmD, BCACP, BCGP, of Tucson, AZ
Amy Smendik, PharmD, of Middleville, MI

APhA–APPM Nuclear Pharmacy Practice Special Interest Group Coordinator-elect

Jessica Comstock, PharmD, BCNP, of Boise, ID

APhA–APPM Pain, Palliative Care, and Addiction Special Interest Group Coordinator-elect

Larry Selkow, RPH, BS, of La Quinta, CA

APhA–APPM Preceptor Special Interest Group Coordinator-elect

Jeffrey Hamper, PharmD, BCACP, of Boise, ID

APhA–APPM Public Health Special Interest Group Coordinator-elect

Jeff Rochon, PharmD, FAPhA, FWSPA, of Seattle, WA

APhA–APPM Transitions of Care Special Interest Group Coordinator-elect

Amulya Uppala, PharmD, BCPS, of New Brunswick, NJ


APhA is the only organization advancing the entire pharmacy profession. Our expert staff and strong volunteer leadership, including many experienced pharmacists, allow us to deliver vital leadership to help pharmacists, pharmaceutical scientists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians find success and satisfaction in their work while advocating for changes that benefit them, their patients, and their communities. For more information, please visit



Renee Kalu

Rate this article:
No rating
Comments (0)Number of views (5380)
Please login or register to post comments.