The Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research

2020 The Tyler Prize For Stimulation of Research recipient

2020 The Tyler Prize For Stimulation of Research recipient: James Cloyd, PharmD


The Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research recognizes an individual(s) for encouraging research by peers, students, fellows, residents, and others via publications or by directing research, serving as a preceptor, or mentoring in any discipline of the pharmaceutical sciences. This award is considered one of the three most prestigious APhA scientific awards and is presented every 3 years. The award was established in 1962 as the Stimulation of Research Award and was renamed The Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research in 2002 in recognition of the distinguished scientific and administrative career of Varro “Tip” Tyler (1926-2001).

Evaluation criteria

The nominee must have stimulated research in others as evidenced by his/her ability to motivate and inspire by performance or counsel and the ability to lead others toward outstanding accomplishments and effective careers in his/her particular field. Quantity and quality of research stimulated by the nominee in the individuals trained or mentored by the nominee will be given important consideration. This award is not restricted to members of the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS), but recipients must be an APhA member. The research area for which the award is presented will rotate among the disciplines represented by the APhA-APRS sections. In 2023, the award will recognize contributions in the area of economic, social and administrative sciences. Self-nominations are allowed and encouraged for this award. Remington Honor Medalists are not eligible.

Nomination process

APhA publishes a call for nominations for The Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research. The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination. The nomination is to include the following items:

A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award

Three supporting letters from scientists who are qualified to judge the significance of the nominee’s stimulation of research should be sent with the nomination. Letters are to address the nominee’s worthiness to receive the award and include: (a) the major contributions of the nominee to the research ideas, attitudes, habits, and achievements of others; and (b) examples (primarily of published works) of accomplishments stemming from those contributions.

Sample article reprints of outstanding research stimulated by the nominee.

To the extent known, a list of individuals (students, graduate students, residents, fellows, etc.) whose research was stimulated or directed by the nominee or who were directly trained, precepted, or mentored by the nominee should be included. This list should mention the individuals’ current area of research or significant published articles inspired or stimulated by the nominee.

A current full curriculum vitae or résumé. 

Selection process

The final selection is made by the APhA-APRS Awards Committee based upon a review of the recommendations from the appropriate section officers.

Nature of award

The award, presented at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition, consists of an engraved plaque. The recipient also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past Recipients

2020 James Cloyd

2017 William Douglas Figg Sr.

2014 Stephen W. Schondelmeyer

2011 Raman Venkataramanan

2008 Robert W. Brueggemeier

2005 Mickey Smith

2002 William E. Evans

1999 Loyd V. Allen Jr.

1996 T. Donald Rucker

1995 Jerome J. Schentag

1993 Jerry L. McLaughlin

1988 George Zografi

1986 Michael A. Schwartz

1983 John G. Wagner

1981 Edward R. Garrett

1976 Milo Gibaldi

1972 Bernard B. Brodie

1969 Walter Fred Enz

1968 Daniel H. Murray

1967 Takeru Higuchi

1966 W. Lewis Nobles

1965 Arthur H. Uhl

1964 Arthur E. Schwarting

1963 Rudolph H. Blythe

1962 Glen L. Jenkins


Return to Main Awards Page