APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research & Science (APhA-APRS) Research Achievement Award

The award, offered annually, is intended to recognize and encourage outstanding, meritorious achievement in any of the pharmaceutical sciences. This award recognizes contributions in basic pharmaceutical, clinical, and economic, social, and administrative sciences. The APhA Research Achievement Award was first established in 1961 as six separate awards, each recognizing outstanding, meritorious achievement in six disciplines of pharmaceutical sciences. Since 1995, these awards have been consolidated into a single annual award.


The nominee must have accomplished outstanding research and must have published reports in the scientific professional literature that can be used as criterion in judging an individual’s contributions within a given category. This award is not restricted to members of the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS), but the recipient must be an APhA member. Self-nominations are allowed and encouraged for this award. Remington Honor Medalists are not eligible for the award. Applications will be evaluated based upon the following criteria (listed alphabetically; not in rank order):

Established “stream of research”

International recognition

Leadership and other recognitions

New concepts/innovative research in pharmaceutical science

Utilization/implementation of research by the profession, research community, and other disciplines

Nomination process

The nominees may represent any of the three Sections of APhA-APRS. In addition, any individual may nominate an eligible candidate. The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination.

The nomination is to include the following items:

A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award

Three supporting letters from scientists who are qualified to judge the pharmaceutical significance of the nominee’s research record should be sent with the nominations. Letters are to address the nominee’s worthiness to receive the award and include: (a) the major research contributions of the nominee, and (b) at least two major examples of published research.

Sample article reprints of the nominee’s most outstanding work

A current full curriculum vitae

Selection process

The selection of the recipient is made by the APhA-APRS Awards Committee.

Nature of award

The award, presented at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition, consists of an engraved plaque. The recipient also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past Recipients

2022 Karen S. Hudmon

2021 Suresh Madhavan

2020 Philip S. Portoghese

2019 Jon C. Schommer

2018 Betsy Sleath (ESAS)

2017 Not Presented

2016 Myron (Mike) Jacobson (Basic)

2015 Sean D. Sullivan (ESAS)

2014 Marie Chisholm-Burns (Clinical)

2013 Stuart C. Porter (Basic)

2012 Carole L. Kimberlin (ESAS)

2011 Not presented

2010 Indra K. Reddy (Basic)

2009 JoLaine R. Draugalis (ESAS)

2008 Barry L. Carter (Clinical)

2006 Stephen W. Schondelmeyer (ESAS)

2005 James Cloyd (Clinical)

2004 James C. Price (Basic)

2003 Duane M. Kirking (ESAS)

2002 Leslie Hendeles (Clinical)

2001 Ronald T. Borchardt (Basic)

2000 Dale B. Christensen (ESAS)

1999 Milap C. Nahata (Clinical)

1998 Not awarded (Basic)

1997 J. Lyle Bootman (ESAS)

1996 William E. Evans (Clinical)

1995 Richard A. Glennon (Basic)

1994 Garnet E. Peck, Dev S. Pathak (ESAS)

1993 James T. Stewart

1992 Ho-Leung Fung, Laurence H. Hurley

1991 Charles D. Hepler, Joseph R. Robinson

1990 John M. Cassady, Lee Timothy Grady

1989 Nicholas Bodor

1988 Bonnie L. Svarstad

1987 Klaus G. Florey, Kenner C. Rice

1986 Jean Paul Gagnon

1985 Sidney J. Stohs, Donald T. Witiak

1984 Lester Chafetz, David A. Knapp, John P. N. Rosazza, John G. Wagner

1982 Jack L. Beal, Leslie Z. Benet, John L. Neumeyer, Albert I. Wertheimer

1980 Kenneth A. Connors, Lester A. Mitscher, Philip S. Portoghese, Mickey C. Smith

1979 Leon Lachman, Wayne M. Levin

1978 Daniel Banes, Robert W. Hammel, Eugene C. Jorgensen

1977 Lewis S. Harris, Jens T. Carstensen

1976 Heinz G. Floss, Everett May

1975 Erminio Costa, John L. Lach, Ernest G. Wollish

1974 Norman R. Farnsworth, Karl Folkers

1973 Arnold Becket, Klaus Bienmann

1972 Henry Rapoport, Lewis S. Schanker

1970 William O. Foye, Edward R. Garrett, William I. Higuchi, Sidney Riegelman, Monroe Wall

1969 Albert Q. Butler, Gerhard Levy, Egil Ramstad, Corwin H. Ransch, David H. Tedeschi

1968 Morris E. Auerbach, Allan H. Conney, Sidney Riegelman, Joseph Sam,William I. Taylor

1967 Karl H. Beyer, Jr., Alfred Burger, John C. Craig, Alfred N. Martin, Frank H. Wiley

1966 John H. Biel, Joseph P. Buckley, William J. Mader, Eino Nelson, Varro E. Tyler Jr.

1965 S. Morris Kupchan, Lloyd C. Miller, Edward E. Smissman, Ewart A. Swinyard, Dale E. Wurster

1964 Takeru Higuchi, Tom S. Miya, Taito O. Soine, James M. Sprague, Joseph V. Swintosky

1963 Bernard R. Baker, Einar Brochmann Hanssen, Edward R. Garrett,Gordon H. Svoboda, Lawrence C. Weaver

1962 Joseph H. Burckhalter, John E. Christian, Ole Gisvold, Takeru Higuchi, E. Leong Way

Return to Main Awards Page