Clinical Research Paper Award

The award, offered annually, is intended to promote and encourage high-quality clinical research or practice-based research in the clinical sciences by recognizing an original research article in this area which has been published in the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA).

Evaluation Criteria

The primary author (first and/or corresponding author) must be a member of APhA. The paper must represent original research and have been published in JAPhA within 2 calendar years prior to the screening deadline.

The Screening Committee will evaluate papers based upon the following criteria (not in rank order):
  • Potential of the paper to translate clinical science or practice-based investigations into practice
  • Quality of the science (quality factors may include but are not limited to: adequate sample size, use of control groups, statistical analysis, research is not purely descriptive, research includes an evaluation component, etc.)
  • The research should describe a rigorous evaluation of a well-designed patient care intervention or practice-based initiative
  • The research is original and innovative while being founded in existing literature and/or theory
  • The research has had or is likely to have a significant impact on practice, the profession, or medication use
Nomination/Screening process

A Screening Committee comprised of members of the Clinical Sciences Section of the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS) will screen all eligible papers published in JAPhA in the previous 2 years and select and submit three finalists to the APhA-APRS Awards Committee by the screening deadline (September 15).

Selection process

The selection of the recipient is made by the APhA-APRS Awards Committee.

Nature of award

The nature of the award presented at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition will consist of an engraved plaque for each author of the selected paper. The primary author also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past recipients

2022 Benjamin Y. Urick, Troy K. Trygstad, Joel F. Farley

2021  Tayla N. Rose, Michelle L. Jacobs, Debra J. Reid, Carla J. Bouwmeester, Michael P. Conley, Borna Fatehi, Thomas M. Matta, Judith T. Barr

2020 Juanita A. Draime, Douglas C. Anderson, Timothy S. Anderson

2019 William R. Doucette, Randal P. McDonough, Fischer Herald, Amber Goedken, Jenn Funk, Michael J. Deninger

2018 Michael E. Klepser, Donald G. Klepser, Allison M. Dering-Anderson, Jacqueline A. Morse, Jaclyn K. Smith, and Stephanie A. Klepser

2017 Laura Shane-McWhorter, Carrie McAdam-Marx, Leslie Lenert, Marta Petersen, Sarah Woolsey, Jeffrey M. Coursey, Thomas C. Whittaker, Christian Hyer, Deb LaMarche, Patricia Carroll, and Libbey Chuy

2016 Heidi Luder, Stacey Frede, Jim Kirby, Kelly Epplen, Teresa Cavanaugh, Jill Boone, Wayne Conrad, Pamela Heaton, and Diane Kuhlmann

2015  Lourdes G. Planas, Kimberly M. Crosby, Kevin C. Farmer, and Donald L. Harrison

2014  Daniel R. Touchette, Andrew L. Masica, Rowena J. Dolor, Glen T. Schumock, Young Ku Choi, Yoonsang Kim, and Scott R. Smith

2013  Not presented

2012  Cameron A. Winfrey, Sara Wortman, Stacey Frede, Natalie Kunze, Wayne F. Conrad, and Pamela C. Heaton

2011  Bijal M. Shah, Gireesh V. Gupchup, Matthew E. Borrego, Dennis W. Raisch, and Katherine K. Knapp

2010  Lourdes G. Planas, Kimberly M. Crosby, Kimberly D. Mitchell, and Kevin C. Farmer

2009  Joseph P. Vande Griend

2008  Lord V. Sarino

2007  Barry Bunting

<< Return to Main Awards Page