Remington Honor Medal

2023 Remington Honor Medal recipient

Henri R. Manasse Jr., PhD, ScD (Hon.), FFIP

Photo of Henri R. Manasse Jr.

Henri R. Manasse, Jr., PhD, ScD (Hon.), FFIP, of Downers Grove, IL, was selected as the recipient of the 2023 Remington Honor Medal. Manasse has served in many roles throughout his accomplished career and is currently a professor and dean emeritus of the University of Illinois at Chicago, College of Pharmacy. Manasse previously served for 14 years as executive vice president and CEO at the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists following more than 30 years of experience in numerous other positions within academia and public policy. Manasse is a pharmacy graduate of the University of Illinois at the Medical Center. He received his master’s degree from Loyola University, and he was the first PhD graduate of the University of Minnesota’s Social and Administrative Pharmacy graduate program.

Manasse was selected for this honor due to his extensive service to the profession as a leader who touched many areas of pharmacy practice and education.

Manasse’s nominators described his impact on the profession of pharmacy as having been broadly influential in defining an elevated role of pharmacists in society and supporting the advancement of education to fulfill this role. Additionally, Manasse’s efforts to educate and collaborate with health care leaders, government officials, and other groups outside of pharmacy have expanded the ability for pharmacists to provide enhanced, collaborative patient care.

Another nominator described Manasse as having been at the forefront of pharmacy advancement that also included a global impact through leadership positions with the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP). Lastly, through almost 200 publications or contributions to journals or textbooks he has provided extensive review, analysis, and direction for the profession, which has advanced the profession of pharmacy and its external recognition.


The Remington Honor Medal, named for eminent community pharmacist, manufacturer, and educator Joseph P. Remington (1847-1918), was established in 1918 to recognize distinguished service on behalf of American pharmacy during the preceding year, culminating in the past year, or during a long period of outstanding activity or fruitful achievement.

Nomination criteria

Any APhA member may nominate a person for the Remington Honor Medal. The nominee for the award does not need to be an APhA member. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Nomination process

The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination.

The nomination is to include the following items:

A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award

Letters of recommendation are optional; two letters are preferred with a maximum of six letters accepted

A current curriculum vitae or detailed résumé

Selection process

Upon receipt of a nomination, staff reviews it for completeness and conformity with guidelines. Incomplete nominations will be returned immediately to the nominator. If acceptable, APhA staff forwards the nomination to the Remington Honor Medal Screening Committee. The screening Committee will review the nomination materials received for all candidates to prepare a preliminary list of candidates to be evaluated by the Remington Honor Medal Selection Committee. The selection committee evaluates the materials and determines the final two candidates for the Medal. A mail ballot containing the names and supporting materials of the final two candidates is then forwarded to the APhA Former presidents, whose vote determines the eventual recipient.

Nature of award

The award, presented at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition, consists of the gold Remington Honor Medal, a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration, and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA. A reception and an elegant dinner for the Remington Medalist are held during the annual meeting, at which time the recipient delivers a speech.

Past Recipients

2021 Marialice Bennett

2020 Colonel (Ret.) John D. Grabenstein

2019 Lucinda L. Maine

2018 Harold Godwin

2017 Daniel Hussar

2016 Leslie Z. Benet

2015 Calvin H. Knowlton

2014 Marilyn K. Speedie

2013 Dennis K. Helling

2012 William E. Evans

2011 Paul W. Lofholm

2010 Mary Anne Koda-Kimble

2009 John A. Gans

2008 J. Lyle Bootman

2007 Ernest Mario

2006 Robert D. Gibson

2005 Robert J. Osterhaus

2004 Lowell J. Anderson

2003 Mary Louise Andersen

2002 Richard P. Penna

2001 Jerome A. Halperin

2000 Daniel A. Nona

1999 Carl F. Emswiller, Jr.

1998 Kenneth N. Barker

1997 Linda M. Strand

1997 C. Douglas Hepler

1996 Maurice Q. Bectel

1995 Max W. Eggleston

1994 James T. Doluisio

1993 Robert C. Johnson

1992 Jere E. Goyan

1991 George B. Griffenhagen

1990 Joseph A. Oddis

1989 Lawrence C. Weaver

1988 Peter P. Lamy

1987 Gloria N. Francke

1986 Irving Rubin

1985 William L. Blockstein

1984 William M. Heller

1983 Takeru Higuchi

1980 Joseph D. Williams

1978 Eugene V. White

1977 David J. Krigstein

1976 Melvin W. Green

1975 Albert Doerr

1974 Lloyd M. Parks

1970 Donald E. Francke

1969 George F. Archambault

1967 William S. Apple

1965 K. K. Chen

1964 Robert A. Hardt

1963 Glenn. L. Jenkins

1962 Harry J. Anslinger

1960 Ivor Griffith

1959 Justin L. Powers

1958 Eli Lilly

1957 W. Paul Briggs

1956 Frank W. Moudry

1955 Roy Bird Cook

1953 Hugh C. Muldoon

1952 Patrick Henry Costello

1951 Hugo H. Schaefer

1950 Edwin Leigh Newcomb

1949 Ernest Little

1948 Andrew Grover DuMez

1947 Rufus Ashley Lyman

1945 Joseph Rosin

1944 H. Evert Kendig

1943 Robert P. Fischelis

1942 Josiah K. Lilly

1941 George D. Beal

1940 Robert L. Swain

1938 Henry C. Christensen

1937 J. Leon Lascoff

1936 Edmund N. Gathercoal

1935 Samuel Louis Hilton

1934 Sir Henry S. Wellcome

1933 Evander F. Kelly

1932 Eugene G. Eberle

1931 Ernest Fullerton Cook

1930 Edward Kremers

1929 Wilbur Lincoln Scoville

1928 Charles H. LaWall

1926 Henry A. B. Dunning

1925 Henry Milton Whelpley

1924 George Mahlon Beringer

1923 Henry Hurd Rusby

1922 Henry Vincome Arny

1920 John Uri Lloyd

1919 James Hartley Beal


Return to Main Awards Page