Hugo H. Schaefer Award

2024 Hugo H. Schaefer Award Recipient

Dr. Rosalyn C. King, PharmD

Photo of Dr. Rosalyn C. King, PharmD

Dr. Rosalyn C. King, BSPharm ’62, MPH ’72, PharmD '76, is a distinguished pharmacist, author, professor, consultant, and global health advisor, with a trailblazing career spanning over five decades. Her journey commenced as a pharmacist in New York and expanded at the Watts Health Center in Los Angeles, where she invaluable experiences ignited her dedication to providing healthcare to underserved communities.

Throughout her career, Dr. King held pivotal roles, including her historic position in 1969 as the first African American pharmacist to be employed by the American Pharmacists Association, where she served as an Assistant Director of the Delivery of Pharmaceutical Services in Poverty Areas Project. She also served as a Public Health Advisor on Pharmaceuticals for the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). Dr. King was the first African American woman to be elected and re-elected to the United States Pharmacopeia’s Committee of Revision where she chaired its International Health Advisory Panel.

Dr. King’s commitment to advancing pharmacy practice transcended borders, as she led policy and program development projects in USAID-funded healthcare services in multiple countries across continents, notably for the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States and countries like Romania and Nigeria. Additionally, she served as the founding director of the Pharmacists and Continuing Education Center (PACE) at Howard University’s Continuing Education Program. Upon retiring from PACE, it was noted that over 2300 middle to senior-level officials, mainly pharmacists, from 27 countries and the U.S. had been trained and developed new skills.

Dr. King's indelible mark on the field of pharmacy extends to her partnership role in enhancing the training of community pharmacists in women's health in Romania and her collaboration on crucial projects funded by the President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR) in Nigeria. This work in PEPFAR’s flagship project focused on strengthening pharmacists’ contributions as well as pharmacy systems and services for individuals affected by HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted infections, and tuberculosis and resulted in a notable PEPFAR SOLUTION.

Among her numerous accolades, Dr. King received Seton Hill University's Distinguished Alumni Leadership Award, recognizing her exceptional contributions to healthcare, the American Public Health Association’s Black Caucus of Health Worker’s Hildrus A. Poindexter Award for Outstanding Service in the Field of Health, the Chauncey I. Cooper of the National Pharmaceutical Association for sustained and distinguished service to the profession of pharmacy, and the Montgomery County, Maryland African American Living Legend Award. Her inspiring journey is a testament to the diverse ways in which pharmacists can contribute to healthcare, both locally and globally.

Dr. King's literary contributions are equally noteworthy, with publications covering a wide spectrum of topics, from pharmaceutical care to global health policy. Her insights continue to shape discussions and policies in healthcare, serving as a wellspring of inspiration for future generations of healthcare professionals.

In her retirement, Dr. King remains dedicated to working closely with organizations focused on reducing health disparities, improving public health, and caring for underserved populations. Her remarkable story, From Watts to the World: A Chronicle of Service, is a source of motivation and insight, not only for healthcare professionals but also for anyone seeking to understand how determination and passion can lead to a remarkable journey of service and impact.


The Hugo H. Schaefer Award was established by the American Pharmacists Association in 1964 to honor the long-time APhA Treasurer, Hugo H. Schaefer, for a lifetime of contributions to the profession of pharmacy and in particular for his service to APhA. The purpose of the award is to recognize an individual who has made outstanding voluntary contributions to society as well as to the profession of pharmacy and APhA.

Nomination criteria

The nominee must be an APhA Member who has made outstanding voluntary contributions to society, the profession of pharmacy, and APhA. Remington Honor Medalists are not eligible.

Nomination process

The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination.

The nomination is to include the following items:

A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award

Letters of recommendation are optional; two letters are preferred with a maximum of six letters accepted

A current curriculum vitae or detailed résumé

Selection process

The selection is made by the APhA Board of Trustees based upon careful review of complete nominations.

Nature of award

The award, presented at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition, consists of a medal bearing the likeness of Hugo H. Schaefer mounted on a wooden base, which is inscribed with the recipient’s name and date of presentation. The recipient also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past Recipients

2023 Ruth A. Smarinsky, PharmD

2022 Stephen L. Foster

2021 Marianne Rollings

2020 Duane M. Kirking

2019 Kenneth M. Hale

2018 Robert Alesiani

2017 Clark H. Gustafson

2016 Bruce R. Canaday

2015 Baeteena M. Black

2014 Leonard L. Edloe

2013 Robert L. Day

2012 Jeffrey N. Baldwin

2011 Thomas R. Temple

2010 Gary W. Kadlec

2009 Henry Lewis III

2008 Jordan L. Cohen

2007 J. Lyle Bootman

2006 Joseph G. Valentino

2005 Carlo Michelotti

2004 Daniel A. Hussar

2003 R. Timothy Webster

2002 Jean Paul Gagnon

2001 Fred T. Mahaffey

2000 John W. Hasty

1999 Louis M. Sesti

1998 Herbert S. Carlin

1997 Linda F. Golodner

1996 Mary Munson Runge

1995 Michael A. Schwartz

1994 Paul G. Rogers

1993 William J. Grosz

1992 Bob Gude

1991 Jacob W. Miller

1990 James B. Powers

1989 Samuel W. Kidder

1988 Robert C. Johnson

1987 Joseph D. Williams

1986 William J. Edwards

1985 Edwin A. Mande

1984 George B. Griffenhagen

1983 Joseph A. Oddis

1982 Adela Schneider

1980 Jere E. Goyan

1979 Grover C. Bowles

1978 Arthur G. Zupko

1976 Philip R. Lee, MD

1974 Gaylord A. Nelson

1973 Willard B. Simmons

1971 Harry C. Shirkey, MD

1969 E. Claiborne Robins

1967 Wallace Werble

1966 William S. Apple

1965 Hubert H. Humphrey

1964 Hugo H. Schaefer

Return to Main Awards Page