Hubert H. Humphrey Award

2023 Hubert H. Humphrey Award Recipient

Farah M. Jalloul, B.S., Pharm.D., MBA

Photo of Farah M. Jalloul, B.S., Pharm.D., MBA

Dr. Farah Jalloul was born and raised in Lebanon. She immigrated to the United States with her parents and siblings at 10 years old. In 2012, she obtained a bachelor's in science, with a concentration in biochemistry from the University of Michigan-Dearborn and continued to earn a Doctorate in Pharmacy and a Master of Business Administration from Ferris State University in 2017. She then completed a fellowship with the Michigan Pharmacists Association (MPA). Currently, she serves as the Director of Professional Development at the MPA. During the COVID-19 pandemic, she transitioned into a liaison role between the MPA and the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS). She facilitated discussions between the state and pharmacists throughout the state of Michigan. She continues to serve as the state's pharmacy emergency preparedness coordinator and represents pharmacy on a state level.


The Humphrey Award, named for the noted pharmacist, long-time APhA member, and public servant (senator from Minnesota and U.S. Vice President) was established in 1978 to recognize APhA members who have made major contributions in government and/or legislative service.


The nominee must be an APhA Member who is an elected or appointed official and who has served or is serving in government regulatory or legislative arena. Nominations must be made by an APhA Member. Remington Honor Medalists are not eligible.

Nomination process

The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination.

The online nomination submission is to include the following items:

A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award

Letters of recommendation are optional; two letters are preferred with a maximum of six accepted letters

A current curriculum vitae or detailed résumé

Selection process

The selection is made by the APhA Board of Trustees based upon careful review of complete nominations.

Nature of award

The award consists of a medal bearing the likeness of Hubert H. Humphrey, on a polished metal pedestal mounted on a marble base, which is inscribed with the recipient’s name and date of presentation. The award is presented during the APhA Political Leadership Reception at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition. The recipient also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past Recipients

2022 Krista Capehart

2021 Douglas Miller

2020 Alex J. Adams

2019 Michael Mone

2018 Timothy Tucker

2017 John Forbes

2016 Larry D. Wagenknecht

2015 Brian J. Isetts

2014 Earl L. "Buddy" Carter

2013 Bob Greenwood

2012 Stephen W. Schondelmeyer

2011 Wendall F. Gaston

2010 Eddie M. Madden

2009 Michael A. Pastrick

2008 David Shepard

2007 Vicki Schmidt

2006 Percy Malone

2005 James Allen Main

2004 David R. Work

2003 Rep. Stephen R. Ehardt

2002 Calvin J. Anthony

2001 B. E. “Bobby” Parham

2000 Leticia R. Van de Putte

1999 Robert J. Osterhaus

1998 Frank M. Pelly

1997 Leo R. Blais

1996 Norman Garfinkel

1995 Bill K. Brewster

1994 Harvey B. Morgan

1993 Aaron E. Henry

1992 Donald R. Gronewold

1989 Frank Watson

1988 Everett A. Kelly

1987 Mickey Leland

1985 Don M. Newman

1984 Fred Lippman

1983 W. Roy Smith

1982 Mario Obledo

1981 Tim Von Dohlen

1980 George H. Ryan

1979 William L. Long

1978 W. Byron Rumford


Return to Main Awards Page