Fellow Of The American Pharmacists Association

2021 Fellow Award Recipients



The APhA Fellow Award was established to honor APhA members for exemplary professional achievements in professional practice and outstanding service to the profession up to that period of time through activities in APhA and other organizations. Recipients of the APhA Fellow Award may continue to utilize the designation, FAPhA, as long as their professional license, if a licensed pharmacist, is in good standing, and they maintain their APhA membership.


The designations “APhA Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management (APhA-APPM) Fellow” and “APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS) Fellow” to honor respective Academy members for exemplary service and achievements in their professional area were established in 1987. In 1995, the APhA Board of Trustees acted to designate all Fellows, regardless of their Academy affiliation, as “APhA Fellows” (no Academy specific designation). However, the selection of Fellows is still made by the respective Academies. In 2018, the Board also set a maximum number of Fellows that each Academy may select (ten for APhA-APPM and five for APhA-APRS).

Evaluation Criteria

The nominee must be an APhA-APPM or APhA-APRS member with a minimum of 10 years APhA membership with exemplary professional experience, as well as demonstrated achievements in and contributions to pharmacy practice and/or research. An APhA Fellow also has rendered outstanding service to the profession with specific emphasis on APhA-related activities. APhA Fellows have also made substantial contributions to the profession of pharmacy through practice, scholarship, education and mentoring, and advocacy. Self-nominations are allowed. Nominees for recognition in 2022 must met the membership requirement at the time of application. Membership as a student pharmacist (e.g., APhA-ASP membership) does not count toward the 10-year membership requirement.

  • Applications will be evaluated based upon the following criteria: (listed in decreasing relative emphasis):
  • APhA-related activities (leadership, committees, speaker, publication contributor/reviewer, etc.)
  • Contributions to the profession of pharmacy
  • Interprofessional education and practice
  • Service to and recognition from other professional associations
  • Healthcare advocacy
  • Community service

Nomination process

The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: Award Nomination Form. The deadline for nominations is September 10.

The nomination is to include the following items:

A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award is optional

Two (2) letters of recommendation are required

A current CV or detailed resumé is required

Selection process

The selection is made by the APhA-APPM or APhA-APRS Awards Committee, based upon careful review of complete nominations and criteria as listed above.


Nature of award

The recipient will receive a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration, engraved plaque, and an APhA Fellow pin.

Past Fellows Selected by APhA-APPM

Past Fellows Selected by APhA-APRS