William H. Briner Distinguished Achievement Award In Nuclear Pharmacy Practice

2024 William H. Briner Distinguished Achievement Award In Nuclear Pharmacy Practice Recipient

Steve Mattmuller, MS, RPh, BCNP

Photo of Steve Mattmuller

Steve Mattmuller was 13 when he started his career in the pharmacy profession as a stock boy at his dad’s pharmacy in Aurora, Ohio.

He graduated from the USC Radiopharmacy program in 1980, his first position was at St. John’s Mercy Medical Center in St. Louis, Missouri. St. John’s is a community hospital with a comprehensive NM department that provided a challenging environment.

In 1995 he returned to his native Ohio to Kettering Medical Center where he still practices. Kettering likewise is a community hospital with a comprehensive NM/PET department. It is yet another challenging environment, especially with a cyclotron.

It was during his time at Kettering he became active in APhA’s SIG on Nuclear Pharmacy serving on various committees and as chair of the SIG in 2009. He also served on various committees with the SNMMI and on two expert advisory committees for the USP on PET and <823>.

In 2008 he served for eight years on the NRC ACMUI committee, serving on several sub-committees. He chaired the sub-committee on Ga-68 Generators, Regulatory Exemption for Decommissioning Funding Plan (DFP). It’s focus was a NRC regulation that triggered an expensive DFP requirement that would restrict the use of Ga-68 generators in the NM field. The sub-committee was successful in getting an exemption that resulted in relief from an onerous NRC regulation.

In 2015 he served for six years on the DOE, NNSA, Nuclear Science Advisory Committee’s sub-committee on Mo-99. The DOE’s program’s goal was to develop a domestic source of Mo-99 production without the use of highly enriched uranium. The sub-committee’s task was to review the DOE’s funded research at National Laboratories and the DOE’s cooperative agreements that helped fund new Mo-99 producers.

He also served on the board for the Coalition of PET Drug Manufacturers and continues to serve the BPS.


This award, named in memory of Captain William H. Briner, a pioneer in the development of the nuclear pharmacy practice specialty, recognizes the achievements of an individual who has made a significant contribution or sustained contributions to the provision of pharmaceutical care within nuclear pharmacy practice. Premier support for this award is provided by the National Association of Nuclear Pharmacies.


The nominee for the APhA-APPM William H. Briner Distinguished Achievement Award in Nuclear Pharmacy Practice must be a pharmacist who is a member of APhA and an APhA-APPM Member who has made significant or sustained contributions to the practice area(s) represented by the section. In 2000, this award was renamed in memory of Captain William H. Briner, a pioneer in the development of the nuclear pharmacy practice. Preference will be given to section members. Self-nominations are allowed for this award. Remington Medalists are not eligible for the award.

Nomination process

The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination.

The nomination is to include the following items:

A letter of nomination describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award

One letter of recommendation from someone other than the nominator is required, up to two letters are accepted

A current curriculum vitae or detailed resume

Selection process

The selection is made by the APhA-APPM Nuclear Pharmacy SIG based upon careful review of the complete nominations and criteria as listed above. Particular attention will be given to the individual’s impact on the profession.

Nature of award

The award is presented at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition and consists of a crystal recognition piece. The recipient will also receive a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past Recipients

2022 Wendy Galbraith

2021 Bill Baker

2020 Jeffrey A. Clanton

2019 Richard M. Fejka

2018 Duann V. Thistlethwaite

2017 Kenneth Breslow

2016 Sally W. Schwarz

2015 Richard A. Nickel

2014 Jeffrey P. Norenberg

2013 Robert W. Beightol

2012 Vivian S. Loveless

2011 Kristina M. Wittstrom

2010 George H. Hinkle

2009 Neil A. Petry

2008 Nicki L. Hilliard

2007 Joseph C. Hung

2006 James F. Cooper

2005 Clyde N. Cole

2004 Rodney D. Ice

2003 David L. Laven

2002 Samuel C. Augustine

2001 Dennis P. Swanson

2000 Richard J. Kowalsky

1999 William B. Hladik

1998 Stanley M. Shaw

1997 James A. Ponto

Return to Main Awards Page