APhA-ASP Chapter Achievement Awards Program

Overview of APhA–ASP Awards Program

The APhA–ASP Chapter Achievement Awards (CAA) Program was established in 1974 to recognize outstanding activities of APhA–ASP chapters at the schools and colleges of pharmacy in the United States and Puerto Rico. The program is an extension of APhA–ASP’s mission to provide opportunities for professional growth and improve patient care while advancing the future of pharmacy. The awards structure is designed to recognize superior programming among chapters that envision the future of pharmacy by creating opportunities for student participation. The awards program also embraces the core ideas of APhA–ASP’s mission to create new standards of leadership, professionalism, membership, patient care, and legislative advocacy among student pharmacists nationwide.

In addition to recognizing outstanding chapter accomplishments, the CAA Program serves as an invaluable information resource for APhA–ASP. Through the reports, APhA staff and the APhA–ASP National Executive Committee are kept abreast of chapter activities. Participation in the CAA Program is required for all APhA–ASP chapters to maintain their charter. Full participation in the CAA Program offers tremendous learning opportunities for members and the opportunity for chapters and individuals to be showcased during the APhA–ASP Awards Ceremony at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition.

Chapters compete for 1 of 18 awards that actively promote the mission of APhA–ASP. Evaluation of chapter activities is done using their Chapter Achievement Report (CAR) and is based upon criteria such as originality of programs, number of chapter members involved, impact on the community, benefit to student pharmacists, and collaboration with other health care organizations. Chapters are also evaluated on their year-to-year progress, particularly in relation to chapter activities and membership retention. 

Chapter Achievement Report (CAR)

In order to provide a baseline for evaluating chapter activities, certain minimum requirements have been established for the CAA Program. Every APhA–ASP chapter is required to submit a Chapter Achievement Report (CAR). All CARs for the June 1, 2016 - May 31, 2017 reporting cycle must be submitted to APhA via the Dropbox folder no later than 11:59 pm (PST) on June 15 in order to be eligible for an award. 

Chapter Achievement Report requirements

All APhA–ASP chapters must submit the following required sections of the CAR:

  1. Chronological List
  2. Essay (must include the following sections):
    • Chapter Leadership & Operations
    • Patient Care
    • Policy and Advocacy
    • Professionalism
  3. Chapter Executive Summary & Statistical Information Questionnaire (online form)
  4. Chapter’s Constitution/Bylaws (only if an update occurred during the reporting cycle)
  5. Chapter Goals and Objectives
  6. Award Submission Confirmation Form
  7. Photographs, Supplemental Materials, and Videos (if applicable) 

Reporting Guidelines and Forms for 2016–17

The 2016–17 Reporting Guidelines include:

  • Overview of Awards Program
  • Requirements and consideration for chapter recognition
  • Description of divisions, eligibility, and awards
  • Awards selection and presentation process
  • Chapter achievement awards submission instructions
  • Chapter Dropbox folders


2015–16 Award Recipients

2015–16 APhA–ASP Chapter Achievement Award recipients (presented at APhA2017 in San Francisco, CA)

Chapter of the Year: University of Florida College of Pharmacy

Division A Winner Chapter Achievement Award: University of Maryland School of Pharmacy

Division A First Runner-Up Chapter Achievement Award: The University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Pharmacy

Division A Second Runner-Up Chapter Achievement Award: UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 

Division AA Winner Chapter Achievement Award: University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy

Division AA First Runner-Up Chapter Achievement Award: University of Missouri—Kansas City School of Pharmacy

Division AA Second Runner-Up Chapter Achievement Award: Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy

Division AAA Winner Chapter Achievement Award: The University of Louisiana at Monroe School of Pharmacy

Division AAA First Runner-Up Chapter Achievement Award: East Tennessee State University Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy

Division AAA Second Runner-Up Chapter Achievement Award: The University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy

Chapter Patient Care Award: University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy

Chapter Policy and Legislative Award: Mercer University College of Pharmacy

Chapter Professionalism Award: University of Southern California School of Pharmacy

Innovative Programming Award: Sullivan University College of Pharmacy

Most Improved Chapter Award: Western University of Health Sciences College of Pharmacy

Outstanding IPSF Activity Award: The University of Arizona College of Pharmacy

Chapter Operational Leadership Award: University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy 


APhA–ASP National Patient Care Project Award Reports

APhA–ASP Webinar Series: "How-To" Guide for Chapter Reporting 2017

Chapter leaders and advisors are encouraged to attend this session with the APhA–ASP Awards Standing Committee. Learn the how-to's of chapter reporting and have an opportunity to have your questions answered.  

APhA–ASP Awards Standing Committee 

Christine Rarrick (crarrick@salud.unm.edu): Regions 1 & 2

Nicole Clay (clayns@mail.uc.edu): Regions 3 & 7

Alaina Darby (adarby1@uthsc.edu): Regions 4 & 5

Michelle Leatherwood (mleathe1@samford.edu): Regions 6 & 8 



The APhA–ASP Chapter Achievement Report is due June 15.

Listing of APhA–ASP awards and scholarships