‘Shining examples’: APhA Foundation presents annual Pinnacle Awards

Honorees are St. Jude’s Hoffman, Kelley–Ross Pharmacy Group, HHS

The 2016 Pinnacle Awards were presented in a ceremony yesterday evening at APhA headquarters in Washington, DC. James M. Hoffman, PharmD, MS, BCPS, FASHP, chief patient safety officer and associate member of pharmaceutical sciences for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, received the Individual Award for Career Achievement. The Group Practice–Health System–Corporation Award was accepted for Kelley–Ross Pharmacy Group by its CEO Ryan Oftebro, PharmD, FACA. And the Government Agency–Nonprofit Organization–Association Award went to the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS).

In her welcoming remarks, Elizabeth Keyes, BSPharm, APhA Foundation Interim Executive Director and APhA Chief Operating Officer, noted that more than 50 individuals and groups have received Pinnacle Awards and called this year’s honorees “three more shining examples.”

Keyes introduced the APhA Foundation Board of Directors, the APhA Board of Trustees, several state pharmacy association executives, APhA President Jean-Venable “Kelly” Goode, PharmD, BCPS, FAPhA, FCCP, and the 2016 Pinnacle Awards Selection Committee.

“We celebrate great success stories of these pharmacists who are using their training and expertise to improve patient health outcomes,” Goode said in her remarks. While it is a challenging time to be a pharmacist, she added, it is a very exciting time.

APhA Foundation President Leonard Edloe, MDiv, PharmD, was the lead presenter of the Pinnacle Awards and emcee for the ceremony. “This year, the recipients of the Pinnacle Awards have, among other things, catalyzed improvements in medication use, have shown enduring and passionate commitment to quality in health care, and have improved patient adherence,” the opening video stated.

At St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Hoffman has made a profound impact in enhancing the care that patients receive. His primary interests include patient safety event detection, clinical decision support, and the clinical implementation of pharmacogenetics. In his video, Hoffman said of his experience, “It's been a great opportunity to think beyond just medication use and expand to the entire hospital and the patients with families we serve.”

In his remarks, Hoffman said, “My message is that we’ve made notable advances in medication use and safety, but we have more work to do.”

As the featured guest speaker at today’s Pinnacle Awards Innovations in Pharmacy Practice Lecture being held at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, Hoffman will present on innovations in pharmacogenomics.

In the video honoring the Kelley-Ross Pharmacy Group, Chief Executive Officer Ryan Oftebro, PharmD, FACA, said, “Pharmacists really need to think about how they’re practicing and be willing to do things differently in order to really have an impact.“  The company has launched a number of “first ever” innovations in the profession that contribute to changing the face of pharmacy.

While accepting the award for the Kelley–Ross Pharmacy Group, Oftebro thanked his staff, who recognized that “this is the highest honor in our profession.” Noting that “provider status is reality in our state,” he added, “We eagerly look forward to the future.”

HHS was honored for its Partnership for Patients initiative, which established that there were 2.1 million fewer incidents of patient harm in 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 compared with the 2010 base year, including a dramatic 40% drop in adverse drug events, the largest single category of hospital harm. These impressive national results were driven by an aligned, collaborative, synergistic set of federal and private-sector initiatives—which worked together with frontline pharmacists, physicians, nurses and other caregivers to generate the substantial reductions in adverse drug events that have been documented now by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality National Scorecard for the period 2011 through 2014. 

This was the 19th annual awards reception and program for the Pinnacle Awards, which were established in 1998. The Pinnacle Awards are administered by the APhA Foundation. Premier support is provided by an educational grant from Merck, and additional support is provided in the form of an educational donation from Amgen.

Yesterday also marked the formal unveiling of the finished remodeling of APhA History Hall at APhA headquarters. APhA History Hall now includes four additional Robert Thom oil paintings from the “Great Moments in Pharmacy” series; a contemporary meetings event space; and areas that highlight APhA Fellows and Bowl of Hygeia honorees.

Updated September 21, 2016