Former APhA President Janet Engle Named ACPE Executive Director

The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) congratulates Janet P. Engle, PharmD, PhD (Hon), FAPhA, FCCP, FNAP, on being named the new Executive Director of the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. ACPE announced today that Dr. Engle will begin her new leadership role in September 2019. 

“I am honored to have been chosen to lead ACPE and continue the legacy of advancing excellence worldwide in pharmacy and technician education and continuing professional development,” Engle said. “In order to assure optimal medication use and therapeutic outcomes and deliver the very best care to our patients, it starts with providing pharmacists with a strong foundation from their professional degree program and continuing with lifelong learning.”

Engle, who most recently served as the Senior Associate Dean for Professional and International Affairs and Professor of Pharmacy Practice at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy, has held a number of prominent posts throughout her career, including APhA President, member of the Board of Directors for the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS), and voting member of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee.

“Jan has been a career-long member and leader with APhA and the pharmacy profession,” said APhA Executive Vice President and CEO Thomas E. Menighan, BSPharm, MBA, ScD (Hon), FAPhA. “As a founding organization of ACPE, along with NABP and AACP, we look forward to supporting Dr. Engle in her new role to advance the mission of ACPE.”