APhA Recognizes Pharmacists’ Contributions to Improving U.S. Immunization Rates and Health

Recipients of 2020 APhA Immunization Champion Awards announced

The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) today announced the selection of recipients of its 2020 Immunization Champion Awards recognizing individuals and organizations who have made extraordinary contributions toward improved vaccination rates within their communities. Pharmacists, in collaboration with physicians, public health officials, and other immunization stakeholders, are recognized as important members of the immunization neighborhood, with millions of vaccinations administered by pharmacists each year.

“The APhA Immunization Champion Awards program shines a light on pharmacists’ contributions to and impact on public health as valued members of the immunization neighborhood,” according to Mitchel C. Rothholz, RPh, MBA, APhA Chief Strategy Officer. “Our awards celebrate the more than 340,000 pharmacists trained to administer vaccines across the lifespan who are making a difference in their communities.”

The APhA Immunization Champion Awards consist of six categories of recognition, including individual practitioners, friend of pharmacy’s immunization efforts, corporation/institution, community outreach, pharmacy team member, and travel health. Nominees were evaluated based on the areas of impact, collaboration, communication, coordination, originality, and overcoming challenges and creating opportunities for pharmacists.


The 2020 Immunization Champion Award recipients are as follows:

Individual Practitioner

Honorable Mention

  • Erica Mahn, Alps Pharmacy, Springfield, MO

National Winner

  • Heather Stewart, Walgreens, Saco, ME


Honorable Mentions

  • Red Lake Indian Health Service, Tenstrike, MN
  • Rite Aid, Camp Hill, PA

National Winners

  • Sand Run Pharmacy, Akron, OH
  • Walgreens Co., Deerfield, IL

Community Outreach

Honorable Mention

  • Sara Fietsam, Schnucks Pharmacy, St. Louis, MO

National Winner

  • Zeshan Mahmood, NovaScripts Central, Alexandria, VA

Travel Health

Honorable Mention

  • UNC Campus Health Pharmacy, Chapel Hill, NC

National Winner

  • Karl Hess, Chapman University, Irvine, CA

Pharmacy Team Member

National Winner

  • Christine Ramos, Walgreens, Coachella, CA

Friend Of Pharmacy

National Winner

  • Michelle Martinez, Indian Health Service, Whiteriver, AZ

Additional information on each of the award recipients is available at https://www.pharmacist.com/apha-immunization-champion-awards.

The American Pharmacists Association established these special awards in 2008, and made the first presentations in 2009, to recognize the value and extraordinary contributions pharmacists provide to improving the vaccination rates in their communities.