American Pharmacists Association Announces 2021 APhA Fellows

CONTACT: Frank Fortin

The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) today announced the selection of the APhA Fellows as part of the 2021 APhA Awards and Honors Program. 

Honorees will be officially recognized at APhA2021, which is scheduled to take place March 12–15, 2021. The APhA Awards and Honors Program is the most comprehensive recognition program in the profession of pharmacy. For more information, visit

APhA Fellows are members of either the APhA Academy of Pharmacy Practice & Management (APhA–APPM) or the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research & Science (APhA–APRS), with a minimum of 10 years of professional experience. To become an APhA Fellow, members must demonstrate exemplary professional achievements and service to the profession through activities with APhA and other national, state and/or local professional organizations.

The Academies have selected the following members as the 2021 APhA Fellows. Here is a glimpse of their work and accomplishments:

Fellows selected by APhA–APPM:

  • Vibhuti Arya, PharmD, MPH, of Brooklyn, NY. Dr. Arya is recognized for her passionate advocacy work, advancing public health practice, and leading efforts to establish the APhA–APPM Public Health Special Interest Group (SIG).
  • Karen M.S. Bastianelli, BSPharm, PharmD, BCACP, of Duluth, MN. Dr. Bastianelli is recognized for education and support to early-career pharmacists and directly giving back to her community.
  • Krista D. Capehart, PharmD, MS, BCACP, AE-C, of Winfield, WV. Dr. Capehart is recognized as the driving force behind the West Virginia provider status bill.
  • Denise M. Clayton, BSPharm, of Mayflower, AR. Ms. Clayton is recognized for tremendous advocacy for medication management services and serving as a sustained member volunteer of APhA and the Arkansas Pharmacists Association.
  • Valerie B. Clinard, PharmD, APh, of San Francisco, CA. Dr. Clinard is recognized for her innovative contributions to move pharmacy forward that exceed her calling as a faculty member.
  • Patricia H. Fabel, PharmD, BCPS, of Winnsboro, SC. Dr. Fabel is recognized for innovation and contributions to the profession through the promotion of pharmacy ownership and the continuation and creation of community pharmacy programs.
  • Kevin J. Musto, BSPharm, of Smyrna, DE. Mr. Musto, an independent pharmacy owner, is recognized for maintaining a high level of contributions to pharmacy and health care in general on the state and national levels. 
  • James A. Owen, PharmD, BCPS, MBA, of Vienna, VA. Dr. Owen is recognized for facilitating growth in community pharmacy residencies, ensuring postgraduate year 1 community residency accreditation standards are current and relevant with pharmacy practice, and leading efforts on Pharmacy Profiles.
  • H. Eric Smith, PharmD, MS, BCNP, of Chapel Hill, NC. Dr. Smith is recognized as a leader in nuclear pharmacy practice and for building bridges among organizations with his specialized knowledge. 

Fellows selected by APhA–APRS:

  • Patrick G. Clay, PharmD, AAHIVP, CPI, CTA, FCCP, of Fort Worth, TX. Dr. Clay is recognized by his peers as a distinguished educator, clinician, and scientist with a strong history of professional service at APhA and who led efforts in the development of the PaCIR tool.  
  • Stephanie Y. Crawford, PhD, MPH, of Chicago, IL. Dr. Crawford is recognized for her longstanding support and membership, including serving as an outstanding reviewer and member of the Editorial Advisory Board for the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA).  
  • Robert DiCenzo, PharmD, BCPS, FCCP, of Winchester, VA. Dr. DiCenzo is recognized for his extensive record of publications  and grants, as well as his service to APhA and commitment to  student pharmacists, pharmacy residents, and fellows—the future of the profession.  
  • Margie E. Snyder, PharmD, MPH, of Indianapolis, IN. Dr. Snyder is recognized for her extensive list of peer-reviewed publications in top journals, book chapters, and contributions to the APhA–APRS Economic, Social, and Administrative Sciences Section. 
  • Mary K. Gurney, BSPharm, MS, PhD, BCPA, of Peoria, AZ. Dr. Gurney is recognized for her long record of outstanding service to APhA, including her role as Moderator for the APhA–APRS ENGAGE community and contributions to the profession through her extensive work with the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy FPGEE/PCOA exams.

Recipients of the 2021 APhA Academy Awards were announced earlier this week. Recipients of the 2021 APhA Professionwide Awards will be announced later this week.

About the American Pharmacists Association
The American Pharmacists Association is the largest association representing all of pharmacy, bringing together practicing pharmacists, pharmaceutical scientists, student pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and others to support pharmacists' ability to deliver optimal patient care. For more information, please visit

The APhA Academy of Pharmacy Practice & Management (APhA–APPM) is dedicated to assisting members in enhancing the profession of pharmacy, improving medication use and advancing patient care. APhA serves pharmacists in all practice settings, including independent and chain community pharmacies, hospitals, long-term care facilities, clinics, health maintenance organizations, federal facilities, nuclear pharmacies and other specialized settings. The Academy is also home to the APhA-APPM Special Interest Groups (SIGs). The SIGs are member-driven groups focused on key areas of interest. All members receive access to continuing education, an online community of practitioners, networking and leadership opportunities, tools and resources for developing patient care services, and cutting-edge information on medication therapy management and regulatory issues facing the profession. For more information, please visit:

The APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA–APRS) stimulates the discovery, dissemination and application of research to improve patient health and serves pharmacists and those members who are involved in the pharmaceutical sciences. Members of APhA may choose to belong to a primary section within APhA–APRS based on their area of research. The Academy is governed by an Executive Committee comprising elected leaders from the three Sections of APhA–APRS: Basic Sciences; Clinical Sciences; and Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences (ESAS). Members receive access to continuing education, an online community for pharmacists, networking and leadership opportunities, premier research journals such as JAPhA and JPharmSci, and cutting-edge information on medication therapy management and regulatory issues facing the profession. For more information, please visit