American Pharmacists Association Announces 2019 APhA Fellows

The APhA awards and honors program is the most comprehensive recognition program in the profession of pharmacy

The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) today announced the selection of the APhA Fellows as part of the 2019 APhA Awards and Honors Program. Honorees will be officially recognized at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition in Seattle, March 22–25, 2019. The APhA Awards and Honors Program is the most comprehensive recognition program in the profession of pharmacy.


Fellows of the American Pharmacists Association:

Fellows are either members of the APhA Academy of Pharmacy Practice & Management (APhA– APPM) or the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research & Science (APhA–APRS) with a minimum of 10 years professional experience. To become a Fellow, members must have demonstrated exemplary professional achievements and service to the profession through activities with APhA and other national, state or local professional organizations.


The Academies have selected the following APhA members, highlighting just one of each recipient’s many professional achievements and/or service to the profession.


Fellows selected by APhA–APPM:

  • Jeanine P. Abrons, PharmD, MS, of Iowa City, IA. Abrons, of the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, has served APhA most significantly as a writer and editor, including the popular book Peripheral Brain for the Pharmacist, the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and PharmacyLibrary.
  • Jeffrey Bratberg, PharmD, of Attleboro, MA. Bratberg, of the University of Rhode Island College of Pharmacy, is recognized nationally for his service, research and scholarly work in infectious disease prevention and treatment and opioid overdose awareness and reversal.
  • James Kirby, PharmD, BCPS, CDE, of Harrison, OH. Kirby’s leadership elevated disease state management, immunizations, medication therapy management, and point-of-care testing to a whole new level at The Kroger Co.
  • Orsula V. Knowlton, BSc, PharmD, MBA, FCPS, of Moorestown, NJ. Cofounder of Tabula Rasa Healthcare Inc., Knowlton’s accomplishments include overseeing the development of postgraduate year PGY1 and PGY2 residencies in pharmacogenomics.
  • Monali Majmudar, PharmD, of Alpharetta, GA. Majmudar, a provider educator for GlaxoSmithKline’s adult vaccine portfolio, is a champion for immunizing pharmacists everywhere, serving as a mentor and expert resource within her state and across the country.
  • Allen Nichol, PharmD, of Gahanna, OH. Nichol, who is CEO of CeutiCare, has demonstrated remarkable resilience in testing innovative practice opportunities and maintaining his commitment to the highest standards in delivering medication management services.
  • Sarah Parnapy Jawaid, PharmD, of Winchester, VA. Parnapy Jawaid, of the Shenandoah University Bernard J. Dunn School of Pharmacy is active at the national, state and local levels of pharmacy, passionate about pharmacy, and a tireless advocate for the profession.
  • Jeffrey Rochon, PharmD, of Renton, WA. Rochon, CEO of the Washington State Pharmacy Association since 2008, led the way on Washington State’s success with attaining provider status for pharmacists through private payers, highlighted across the country as a first-of-its-kind model.
  • Joseph J. Saseen, PharmD, BCPS, BCACP, CLS, of Aurora, CO. Saseen, of the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy, has demonstrated exceptional achievements in clinical practice, teaching, scholarship, and professional service to APhA and the profession.
  • John R. Yuen, PharmD, BCNP, of South Pasadena, CA. Yuen’s contributions span nuclear pharmacy and ophthalmological pharmacy, and his recognized involvement in educating nuclear pharmacists continues at the University of Southern California School of Pharmacy.

Fellows selected by APhA–APRS:

  • Michelle A. Chui, PharmD, PhD, of Madison, WI. Chui, of the University of Wisconsin–Madison, is recognized by peers and other health care professionals on the state and national level for her research in the areas of patient safety and safe medication use.  
  • Karen Nagel, PhD, RPh, of Downers Grove, IL. Nagel, of the Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy, has served in a variety of APhA leadership and volunteer positions. A prolific writer, reviewer, and presenter, she is a voice for pharmacy and science. 
  • Ana C. Quiñones-Boex, BSPharm, MS, PhD, of Downers Grove, IL. Quiñones-Boex, of the Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy, focuses much of her teaching and scholarship on the pharmacist workforce. She serves the community through her work with Spanish-speaking groups.
  • Kenneth Roberts, PhD, of Tigrett, TN. Roberts, who served as Dean of the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy and of the University of Mississippi College of Pharmacy, has had a very positive influence on thousands of pharmacists over the flow of his career.
  • Melissa Skelton Duke, PharmD, MS, BCPS, of Phoenix, AZ. Skelton Duke, of Banner Health, has made her mark through extensive service in both the APhA policy process and the APhA Institute on Substance Use Disorders.

For further information on the award winners, go to the APhA Awards and Honors Program on