Linwood F. Tice Friend of APhA-ASP Award


Formerly known as the "APhA Friend of ASP Award," this award was established in 1988 to recognize an individual whose long-term services and contributions have benefited the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA–ASP), and thereby, student pharmacists in general. The award was renamed in 1994 to honor Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science Dean Emeritus and APhA Past President Dr. Linwood F. Tice who, in his capacity as Chairman of the APhA Committee on Student Branches in 1952–55, was instrumental in the formation of the APhA organizational unit that evolved into APhA–ASP.


The recipient of the APhA Linwood F. Tice Friend of APhA–ASP Award will be an individual who has demonstrated service and commitment to the APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists. This individual has: 1) supported student pharmacists over an extended period of time and at the national level; 2) been responsive to the needs of student pharmacists; 3) promoted the advancement of students within the profession; 4) served as a positive motivation for student pharmacists; and 5) must not be a past recipient of this award.

Nomination Process

The nominator is responsible for submitting the award nomination packet online via Formsite. The deadline for nomination materials is November 1st annually. The award nomination packet includes:

  • Nomination form
  • A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award 
  • Three letters of recommendation are required; a maximum of 6 letters accepted
  • A current CV or detailed résumé

For individuals not selected as the recipient of this award, nominators have the opportunity to have packets forwarded to the following year’s Awards Standing Committee for their review. APhA Student Development Staff will contact the nominator each year prior to the deadline to obtain approval for re-nomination and to update any nomination materials. Packets will be forwarded for a maximum of 4 consecutive years.

Selection process

The selection is made by the APhA–ASP Awards Standing Committee based upon careful review of complete nominations.

Nature of the award

The recipient receives a distinctive, crystal award, along with the following: a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA. 


2020—No Award Presented
2019—Tery Baskin
2018—No Award Presented
2017—Michel B. Disco
2016—Stephanie J. Phelps
2015—Donald J. Floriddia
2014—Marialice Bennett   
2013—Kenneth M. Hale
2012—Joseph L. Fink III
2011—Michael A. Moné
2010—April Shaughnessy
2009—Charles J. Broussard
2008—Valerie T. Prince
2007—Charles K. Born
2006—Robert L. Day
2005—Charles C. Thomas
2004—Lucinda L. Maine
2003—Andrew V. Young
2002—Salvatore J. Giorgianni
2001—RADM Fred G. Paavola
2000—William D. French
1999—Ralph V. Foster
1998—Dennis B. Worthen
1997—Ralph L. Saroyan
1996—Elliott M. Sogol
1995—Donald L. Sorby
1994—Kenneth Leibowitz
1993—Mary Louise Andersen
1992—R. Paul Baumgartner
1991—Allen J. Brands
1990—Alice E. Kimball
1989—Paul E. Freiman


All nominations are due annually by November 1.


Return to APhA-ASP Awards & Scholarships