Influenza vaccination resources from CMS: Help with billing, patient outreach

Agency helps providers bill for administration and cost of influenza vaccine and remind patients that influenza vaccination is covered under Medicare, Medicaid, and CHIP.

Influenza and its complications affect people of all ages and result in thousands of hospitalizations and deaths each year. The good news is that influenza vaccination is covered by Medicare and, for children, by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Because CMS works with patients covered by Medicare, Medicaid, and CHIP, the agency is launching an effort to encourage all patients, especially the black, Hispanic, and Native American communities (who have low rates of vaccination) to get their vaccinated against influenza as early as possible.

CMS has released the 2011–2012 Immunizers' Question and Answer Guide to Medicare Part B & Medicaid Coverage of Seasonal and Influenza Pneumococcal Vaccinations (also located at www.cms.gov/immunizations); the guide helps providers bill for administration and the cost of the vaccine.

CMS also has created a mini-poster in English and Spanish for reminding patients that influenza vaccination is covered under Medicare, Medicaid, and CHIP.

In addition, CMS regional influenza contacts (listed below) may be able to assist pharmacists in creating events and programs that encourage hard-to-reach populations to get vaccinated.

CMS influenza contacts
and states covered


Name


E-mail


Phone

Region 1 (CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT)

Barbara Manning

barbara.manning@cms.hhs.gov

617-565-9435

Region 2 (NJ, NY)

Norma Harris

norma.harris@cms.hhs.gov

212-616-2342

Region 2 (PR, VI)

Maria Martinez

maria.martinez@cms.hhs.gov

787-771-1404

Region 3 (DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, WV)

Monique Scott

monique.scott@cms.hhs.gov

215-861-4508

Region 4 (AL, GA, FL, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN)

Teresa Zayas

teresa.zayas@cms.hhs.gov

404-562-7500

Region 5 (IL, MN, MI, OH, WI)

Ashley Setala

ashley.setala@cms.hhs.gov

312-886-9598

Region 6 (AR, LA, NM, OK, TX)

Gaye Humphrey

gaye.humphrey@cms.hhs.gov

214-767-6455

 Region 6 (AR, LA, NM, OK, TX)

Melissa Scarborough

melissa.scarborough@cms.hhs.gov

214-767-4407

Region 7 (IA, KS, MO, NE)

Lorelei Schieferdecker

lorelei.schieferdecker@cms.hhs.gov

816-426-6453

Region 8 (CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY)

Michael Fierberg

michael.fierberg@cms.hhs.gov

303-844-1592

Region 9 (AZ, CA, HI, NV)

Sharon Yee

sharon.yee@cms.hhs.gov

415-744-2935

Region 10 (AK, ID, OR, WA)

Andrew Tartella

andrew.tartella@cms.hhs.gov

206-615-2412