Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award

This award recognizes an individual who has promoted and encouraged pharmacists to attain leadership positions within pharmacy through example as role model and mentor. The pharmacist for whom the award is named – Gloria Niemeyer Francke, PharmD – personally exemplified the award’s criteria. Gloria Niemeyer Francke, 1986 APhA Honorary President and 1987 Remington Honor Medalist, inspired and mentored future leaders throughout her illustrious pharmacy career.


2018 recipient Lucinda Maine with APhA Immediate Past President Nancy Alvarez

Nominate a colleague for the 2020 Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award

Evaluation criteria

Any APhA member whose efforts or activities have significantly contributed to promoting leadership in others is eligible for this award. The recipient of the APhA Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award will be an individual who has promoted and encouraged pharmacists to attain leadership positions within pharmacy through example as a role model and as a mentor. Nominations must be made by an APhA Member. Remington Honor Medalists are not eligible.

Nomination process
The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: Award Nomination Form. The deadline for nominations is September 1 annually.
The nomination is to include the following items:
• A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
• Letters of recommendation are optional; two letters are preferred with a maximum of six letters accepted
• A current curriculum vitae or detailed résumé
Selection process
The selection is made by the past recipients of the award.
Nature of award
The award consists of a crystal memento bearing the likeness of the APhA building and the name of the recipient, a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition registration, and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.
Past recipients:

2018    Lucinda Maine

2017    Thomas P. Reinders

2016    Michael A. Moné

2015    Todd D. Sorensen

2014    Ralph L. Saroyan

2013    Douglas A. Miller

2012    Cynthia J. Boyle

2011    Julie K. Johnson

2010    Barbara G. Wells

2009    Marialice S. Bennett

2008    Rebecca P. Snead

2007    Nicholas G. Popovich

2006    Colonel John D. Grabenstein

2005    Metta Lou Henderson

2004    Sister Margaret Wright

2003    Mary L. Euler

2002    Marianne R. Rollings

2001    William A. Hopkins, Jr.

2000    Dennis J. McCallian

1999    Melinda C. Joyce

1998    William Arlyn Kloesel

1997    JoLaine R. Draugalis

1996    Rebecca Wheeler Chater

1995    Thomas R. Temple

<< Return to Main Awards Page
Bottom Center Aligned