House of Delegates adopts policy related to pharmacists’ expanded roles

Policies on pharmacist-prescribed medications, value-based care payment models, and performance networks adopted during final session

Delegates convened on Monday at the Moscone Center in San Francisco during the 2017 APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition for the final session of the APhA House of Delegates. More than 300 delegates voted to adopt policy from the APhA Policy Reference Committee on patient access to pharmacist-prescribed medications, pharmacists’ role within value-based payment models, and pharmacy performance networks.

Statements within the topic of value-based payment models, especially the statement concerning electronic health record data, drew much debate from delegates. During the first House of Delegates on Friday, all statements under this topic were referred to the open hearing that took place during APhA2017.

The APhA Policy and Policy Reference Committee proposed policy statements acted on by the House for patient access to pharmacist-prescribed medications included statements related to compensation, and more. The policy statements for pharmacy performance networks addressed evidence-based quality measures within performance network, in addition to others.

Policy related to new business items were considered and adopted during the final House session as well. They included equal employment opportunity for pharmacists; on-label indication and medication safety; work schedules; support for clinically validated blood pressure measurement devices; pharmacy technician education, training, and development. The APhA New Business Review Committee originally recommended rejection of a new business item on drug disposal because it believed existing policy addressed the issue, but during the final session, delegates voted to adopt this new business item that addressed additional factors and encouraged pharmacist engagement.

The session concluded with Nancy Alvarez, PharmD, BCPS, FAPhA, being sworn in as President of APhA, and Michael Hogue, PharmD, FAPhA, FNAP, being sworn in as Speaker of the House of Delegates. The new class of Trustees was also installed. Nicki Hilliard, PharmD, MHSA, BCNP, of Little Rock, AK, is the 2017–18 APhA president-elect.

The APhA House of Delegates is composed of delegates representing all 50 states and territories, national pharmacist organizations, the practice, science and student academies, APhA Board, former presidents and former speakers.