APhA honors outstanding achievements at Annual Meeting

Association Honors

Each year, APhA recognizes exceptional contributors to the profession at the Annual Meeting. The following award winners will be honored at APhA2014 in Orlando.

Remington Honor Medal

APhA bestowed its highest honor on Marilyn K. Speedie, PhD, BSPharm, Dean of the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy since 1996. As Dean, Speedie expanded the university’s pharmacy program to a second campus and established the Center for Leading Healthcare Change. She has also written more than 60 scientific and professional articles.

Hugo H. Schaefer Award

Leonard L. Edloe, BSP, MDiv, PharmD, retired CEO and Pharmacist at Edloe’s Professional Pharmacies in Richmond, VA, and Pastor of New Hope Fellowship in Hartfield, VA, was honored for his four decades of service as a community pharmacist and pharmacy owner. This award recognizes voluntary contributions to APhA, the profession, and society.

Hubert H. Humphrey Award

The Association selected State Sen. Earl L. “Buddy” Carter, BSPharm, to recognize his commitment to community and public service in the state of Georgia. Carter has also served in the Georgia House of Representatives and was Mayor and City Councilman of Pooler, GA. This award honors major contributions in government and legislative services.

Honorary Members

APhA named N. Lee Rucker, MSPH, and Benjamin Jacobs honorary members. Rucker, Principal and Founder of Enhance Value, was recognized for her sustained contributions to medication safety and patient advocacy. Jacobs, Senior Advisor and Founder of JBG Companies, was honored for his leadership and guidance in redeveloping APhA Headquarters.

Honorary President

Theodore G. Tong, PharmD, FAPhA, Associate Dean of Academic and Student Affairs and R. Ken Coit Endowed Chair and Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, was named honorary president for his lifelong commitment to scholarship and advocacy for the profession and for student pharmacists.

Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award

Ralph L. Saroyan, BSPharm, retired Assistant to the Dean and Director of the University of the Pacific Pre-Health Program, received this award in recognition of his exceptional leadership and mentorship over a 50-year career. The award honors role models and mentors who encourage pharmacists to attain leadership positions through example.

H.A.B. Dunning Award

APhA recognized Cardinal Health/Cardinal Health Foundation for its support of APhA initiatives and dedication to advancing the profession, particularly through the Generation Rx program, which combats prescription drug abuse. The award recognizes exemplary contribution to the practice of pharmacy by a pharmaceutical manufacturer or provider of support products and services.

Distinguished Federal Pharmacist Award

CAPT Pamela M. Schweitzer, PharmD, BCACP, was honored for her dedicated service to federal pharmacy and her work with the Indian Health Service (IHS). Over her career, Schweitzer has served in IHS, the Department of Veterans Affairs, and CMS. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in federal pharmacy that improve the health of the nation.

Generation Rx Award of Excellence

APhA selected Leslie Shepard, PharmD, Pharmacist at Dickson Apothecary in Nashville, TN, for her commitment to her community and to combating substance abuse. Shepard’s involvement in the Dickson County Drug-Free Coalition has helped educate patients, providers, and pharmacists throughout the county. This award honors commitment to the mission of substance abuse education.

Community Pharmacy Residency Excellence in Precepting Award

Cherokee Layson-Wolf, PharmD, CGP, BCACP, FAPhA, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Science and Associate Dean of Student Affairs at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, was selected for her work with the school’s community residency program, which she has directed since 2007. She also serves on the APhA community pharmacy residency advisory panel.

Distinguished New Practitioner Award

University of Maryland School of Pharmacy Assistant Professor Brent N. Reed, PharmD, BCPS, was recognized for his work transforming the role of pharmacists within cardiology as well as his mentorship of students and new practitioners. This award honors a new practitioner within his or her first 5 years of practice for distinctive achievements in the profession.