APhA Collaborates with NABP to Develop Program for Community Pharmacy Accreditation

Thomas Temple to Lead APhA Community Pharmacy Accreditation Standards Development Process

WASHINGTON, DC – The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) today announced a partnership with the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) to develop a voluntary accreditation program for community pharmacies. APhA and NABP will work together on developing, testing and implementing standards and the accreditation process. The program is expected to be rolled out in 2012.

The collaboration between APhA and NABP will result in the formation of a new corporation. In this venture, APhA will be responsible for continuing the development of accreditation standards for community pharmacy practice sites. The standards development process will use a consensus-based approach, involving a wide-array of pharmacy and other stakeholders.

“Community pharmacy accreditation will provide an opportunity for practice sites to distinguish themselves in the areas of quality, safety and patient care outcomes for the patients they serve,” stated Thomas Menighan, APhA CEO and Executive Vice President. “APhA is committed to engaging key stakeholders and gathering broad input during the process of shaping a quality community pharmacy accreditation program.”

APhA has engaged Thomas R. Temple, RPh, MS, retiring Iowa Pharmacy Association CEO, to lead the development process for community pharmacy standards. Temple has served as CEO and Executive Vice President of the Iowa Pharmacy Association since 1979 and has been involved in many activities to advance pharmacists’ services, including the development of the innovative Iowa Pharmaceutical Case Management program. He has received numerous awards and served on several boards and advisory committees, including Quality Assurance Inc., University of Iowa Alumni Association, Pharmacy Marketing Group, Alliance for Patient Medication Safety and the United States Pharmacopeia (USP).

“Tom Temple brings a wealth of experience and connections within pharmacy and among key stakeholders to this initiative,” commented Menighan. “He is a well-respected leader with many years of experience in organizational leadership and community pharmacy. His leadership has been instrumental in advancing pharmacy practice in Iowa, and we look forward to leveraging his talents in the creation of community pharmacy accreditation standards.”

APhA has facilitated discussions on pharmacy practice accreditation over the past two years, which resulted in the APhA House of Delegates adopting policy for APhA to take a leadership role in the future of this area. The standards will be focused on assisting pharmacies in the ongoing patient safety and quality initiatives that support the best interest of patients. APhA’s involvement in community pharmacy practice accreditation supports the association’s focus on achieving the Joint Commission of Pharmacy Practitioner’s 2015 Vision for Pharmacy Practice and APhA’s strategic plan.

Please see the Community Pharmacy Accreditation: Frequently Asked Questions for more information.

About the American Pharmacists Association 
The American Pharmacists Association, founded in 1852 as the American Pharmaceutical Association, is a 501 (c)(6) organization, representing more than 62,000 practicing pharmacists, pharmaceutical scientists, student pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and others interested in advancing the profession. APhA, dedicated to helping all pharmacists improve medication use and advance patient care, is the first-established and largest association of pharmacists in the United States.