The Art of Patient Counseling

2023 APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition



The APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition

The major objective of the APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition is to encourage student pharmacists in their efforts toward becoming better patient educators. The competition is designed to reflect the changes occurring in pharmacy practice, to promote and encourage further professional development of the student pharmacist, and to reinforce the role of the pharmacist in improving medication use and advancing patient care.

The competition begins on the local level as students compete to be the national representative from their school or college of pharmacy. The competition on the local level may be funded from a variety of sources, such as official college funds, locally obtained funding, state association support, and student fund-raising activities. Both the locally awarded prizes and the travel expenses for the winner to compete in the national competition will be the responsibility of the school or college of pharmacy. Each of the top ten finalists that compete in the final round of local competition will receive an award, compliments of APhA-ASP.

Once the local winner from each school or college of pharmacy is decided, this individual will schedule an appointment to compete on the national level at the APhA2023 Annual Meeting & Exposition in Phoenix, AZ. The national competition is divided into the preliminary round and final round. During the preliminary round, students select a practice scenario at random and are required to counsel a patient on the appropriate use of the drug involved. Students are then given time to refer to the reference sources available in the model pharmacy. After consulting the references and determining the appropriate information for the patient, the participants counsel the patient. Evaluations are based on the content and style of the counseling presentations. The ten highest scoring participants are then invited to the final round. The final round involves a more complex counseling situation where the participants again select a prescription at random and are asked to counsel the patient on safe and effective drug use. In addition, the patient in the final round will display personality characteristics such as anxiousness, belligerence, or apathy to challenge the participants' ability to convey pertinent information in a realistic situation. The top ten finalists in the national competition will be recognized during the APhA-ASP Awards Celebration, and will receive a cash prize compliments of APhA-ASP.

For more information contact:

APhA Student Development Staff Telephone: 1-800-237-2742, ext. 7514 Email: APhA-ASP@APhAnet.org 2215 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC, 20037



The APhA Academy of Student APhAASP Ine APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) represents over 33,000 student pharmacists

from the 142 schools and colleges of pharmacy across the United States and Puerto Rico. The mission of APhA-ASP is to be the collective voice of student pharmacists, to provide opportunities for professional growth, to improve patient care, and to envision and advance the future of pharmacy.

NATIONAL PATIENT COUNSELING COMPETITION

Honor Roll

1985	John York, University of Michigan
1986	Susan Hughes, University at Buffalo
1987	Jonathan Schiller, St. John's University
1988	Joy Meier, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy
1989	Kimberly A. Kill, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
1990	José Rey, University of Florida
1991	Martha Wall, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
1992	Marissa Buttaro, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy
1993	Kim Helmbrecht, The University of Iowa
1994	Kristen Thomas, Campbell University
1995	Jennifer Schoelles, University of Florida
1996	Marie Belshe, University of California, San Francisco
1997	Joanna Labrecque, Campbell University
1998	Tamar Nicholas, Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
1999	Melissa Selby, University of Colorado
2000	Katie Cubria, Drake University
2001	Kami Dell, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2002	Jacqueline Parpal, University of Colorado
2003	Danielle Przychodzin, Shenandoah University
2004	Michelle Edwards, University of Houston
2005	Dana Hausmann, University of Houston
2006	Eric Ip, University of California, San Francisco
2007	Rebecca Seeba, University of Nebraska Medical Center
2008	Clint Ross, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
2009	Kim Neff, The University of New Mexico
2010	Krystal Pong, University of California, San Francisco
2011	Jack McGuire, Sullivan University
2012	Stacy Pascoe, University of Montana
2013	David Matthews, The Ohio State University
2014	Joanna Lyon, Shenandoah University
2015	Lindsay Kubina, University of Minnesota
2016	Alexandra Kolwicz, Northeastern University
2017	Bethany Abrahams, Creighton University
2018	Sarah Wheeler, The Ohio State University
2019	Jordyn Williams, University of Missouri, Kansas City
2020	Henry Quach, The University of Hawaii at Hilo
2021	Maddie Wiarek – University of Wisconsin-Madison
2022	Cheng-Yu Wang - University of California, San Diego