

APhA-ASP AWARDS STANDING COMMITTEE

Awards are a means of recognizing outstanding chapters and individuals that have supported the Academy. Those so honored are important to the Association, and awards are a public way to recognize excellence. The decision to honor an individual or chapter must be totally impartial. Members of the Committee put aside any allegiance to friends or chapters when selecting award recipients.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS: APhA-ASP National President-elect (National Executive Committee Liaison)

Four Members appointed by the APhA-ASP National Executive Committee.

A Committee Chair, selected from among the four Members by the APhA-ASP National Executive Committee.

STAFF LIAISON: Crystal Atwell, PharmD

APhA Director, Student & New Practitioner Development

GOALS: To honor those outstanding student pharmacists and APhA-ASP Chapters

whose recognition by the Academy and the Association will enhance the

profession.

To ensure that those honored are selected in an equitable way using known

criteria.

PURPOSES: The APhA-ASP Awards Standing Committee is charged to:

1. Evaluate existing awards presented by the Association and APhA-ASP.

- 2. Select the recipients annually for specific APhA-ASP Chapter and Individual Awards.
- 3. Evaluate APhA-ASP Chapter performance and make recommendations for performance improvement and ranking.
- 4. Provide feedback to APhA-ASP Chapters for performance improvement.
- 5. Recommend to the APhA Board of Trustees and Staff new awards if it is concluded that such Award(s) serve in the best interest of the Academy and student pharmacist members.
- 6. Recommend to the APhA Board of Trustees and Staff the merger of or the retirement of previously established Awards.
- 7. Review the report guidelines, procedures, and materials soliciting nominees for various APhA-ASP awards and make recommendations on how these may be improved.
- 8. Participate in the APhA-ASP Awards Celebration and APhA-ASP leadership programming at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition.