Remington Honor Medal

Share This Page
Remington Honor Medal
The Remington Honor Medal, named for eminent community pharmacist, manufacturer, and educator Joseph P. Remington (1847-1918), was established in 1918 to recognize distinguished service on behalf of American pharmacy during the preceding year, culminating in the past year, or during a long period of outstanding activity or fruitful achievement.

2017 recipient Daniel Hussar with APhA President Jean-Venable "Kelly" R. Goode

Nominate a colleague for the 2018 Remington Honor Medal


Any APhA Member may nominate a person for the Remington Honor Medal. The nominee for the award need not be an APhA Member. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Nomination Process
The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: Award Nomination Form. The deadline for nominations is September 1.

The nomination is to include the following items:
• A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievments of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
• Letters of recommendation are optional; two (2) letters are preferred with a maximum of six (6) accepted
• A current CV or detailed resumé

Selection Process
Upon receipt of a nomination, staff reviews it for completeness and conformity with guidelines. Incomplete nominations will be returned immediately to the nominator. If acceptable, staff forwards the nomination to the Remington Honor Medal Screening Committee. The Screening Committee will review the nomination materials received for all candidates to prepare a preliminary list of candidates to be evaluated by the Remington Honor Medal Selection Committee. The Selection Committee evaluates the materials and determines the final two candidates for the Medal. A mail ballot containing the names and supporting materials of the final two candidates is then forwarded to the APhA Former Presidents whose vote determines the eventual recipient.

Nature of Award
The award, presented at the APhA Annual Meeting, consists of the gold Remington Honor Medal, a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA. A reception and an elegant dinner for the Remington Medalist are held during the Annual Meeting, at which time the recipient delivers a speech.

Past Recipients:
1919 James Hartley Beal
1920 John Uri Lloyd
1922 Henry Vincome Arny
1923 Henry Hurd Rusby
1924 George Mahlon Beringer
1925 Henry Milton Whelpley
1926 Henry A. B. Dunning
1928 Charles H. LaWall
1929 Wilbur Lincoln Scoville
1930 Edward Kremers
1931 Ernest Fullerton Cook
1932 Eugene G. Eberle
1933 Evander F. Kelly
1934 Sir Henry S. Wellcome
1935 Samuel Louis Hilton
1936 Edmund N. Gathercoal
1937 J. Leon Lascoff
1938 Henry C. Christensen
1940 Robert L. Swain
1941 George D. Beal
1942 Josiah K. Lilly
1943 Robert P. Fischelis
1944 H. Evert Kendig
1945 Joseph Rosin
1947 Rufus Ashley Lyman
1948 Andrew Grover DuMez
1949 Ernest Little
1950 Edwin Leigh Newcomb
1951 Hugo H. Schaefer
1952 Patrick Henry Costello
1953 Hugh C. Muldoon
1955 Roy Bird Cook
1956 Frank W. Moudry
1957 W. Paul Briggs
1958 Eli Lilly
1959 Justin L. Powers
1960 Ivor Griffith
1962 Harry J. Anslinger
1963 Glenn. L. Jenkins
1964 Robert A. Hardt
1965 K. K. Chen
1967 William S. Apple
1969 George F. Archambault
1970 Donald E. Francke
1971 Linwood F. Tice
1972 Glenn Sonnedecker
1973 Grover C. Bowles
1974 Lloyd M. Parks
1975 Albert Doerr
1976 Melvin W. Green
1977 David J. Krigstein
1978 Eugene V. White
1980 Joseph D. Williams
1983 Takeru Higuchi
1984 William M. Heller
1985 William L. Blockstein
1986 Irving Rubin
1987 Gloria N. Francke
1988 Peter P. Lamy
1989 Lawrence C. Weaver
1990 Joseph A. Oddis
1991 George B. Griffenhagen
1992 Jere E. Goyan
1993 Robert C. Johnson
1994 James T. Doluisio
1995 Max W. Eggleston
1996 Maurice Q. Bectel
1997 C. Douglas Hepler
1997 Linda M. Strand
1998 Kenneth N. Barker
1999 Carl F. Emswiller, Jr.
2000 Daniel A. Nona
2001 Jerome A. Halperin
2002 Richard P. Penna
2003 Mary Louise Andersen
2004 Lowell J. Anderson
2005 Robert J. Osterhaus
2006 Robert D. Gibson
2007 Ernest Mario
2008 J. Lyle Bootman
2009 John A. Gans
2010 Mary Anne Koda-Kimble
2011 Paul W. Lofholm
2012 William E. Evans
2013 Dennis K. Helling
2014 Marilyn K. Speedie
2015 Calvin H. Knowlton
2016 Leslie Z. Benet
2017 Daniel Hussar

<< Return to Main Awards Page

Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content