Kilmer Prize

Share This Page
Kilmer Prize
This award, established in 1935 in honor of Dr. Frederick Barnett Kilmer, former director of the laboratories of Johnson & Johnson, New Brunswick, New Jersey, and APhA member, is presented for a paper reporting meritorious work in pharmacognosy or natural products by an undergraduate or graduate pharmacy student. The award is administered and supported jointly by APhA and the American Society of Pharmacognosy (ASP). More information from ASP can be found here:
Both undergraduate and graduate students in schools or colleges of pharmacy are eligible for this award. The student does not have to be a member of either the American Pharmacists Association or the American Society of Pharmacognosy.
Nomination & Submission Process
Applications should be submitted via email to the Chair of the American Society of Pharmacognosy Awards an dFunds Committee (
• A cover letter including contact information and email address.
• A research paper describing his/her own work in the area of natural products. The research paper should conform in general to the format of the Journal of Natural Products.
• Accompanying the paper must be a sealed envelope containing the address of the contestant and a certified statement from an officer of the institution that the contestant is a regularly registered undergraduate or graduate student in an accredited college or school of pharmacy in the United States.
Selection Process
Papers are reviewed and judged by the American Society of Pharmacognosy
Nature of Award
The Kilmer Prize, presented at the annual meeting of the American Society of Pharmacognosy, consists of a gold plated lapel pin, suitably inscribed, bearing the likeness of Dr. Kilmer. APhA and the American Society of Pharmacognosy provide up to $700 to enable the recipient to attend the meeting.
Past Recipients:
1975- Gaetana Forte
1976- Christopher J. Linden
1977- Dennis E. Darling
1979- Cathy C. Collins
1983- Pamela L. Boner
1984- Stephanie Ann Sweetana
1985- Mark T. Gill
1986- Tannis MaCaulay Jurgens
1988- Elizabeth Trytek
1989- Si-yu Liu
1990- Ghee Teng Tan
1992- Wenwen Ma
1993- Xinping Fang
1994- Gengzian Zhao
1996- Choo Yaw Ang
1997- Nicholas H. Oberlies
1998- Leng-Chee Chang
2000- Nirmal Pugh
2001- Ran Xu
2003- Laura C. Johansmann
2004- Haidy Kamel
2005- Swapnali Sawant
2006- Marcy Balunas
2007- Sandeep Jain
2009- Mohamed Donia
2010- Ahmed Elnager
2011- Hahk-Soo Kang
2012- Lilibeth Salvador
2014- K.H. Almabruk
2015- No Award Given
2016- No Award Given
2017- Fatma Al-Awadhi
Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content