Clinical Research Paper Award

Share This Page
Clinical Research Paper Award
The award, offered annually, is intended to promote and encourage high quality clinical research or practice based research in the clinical sciences by recognizing an original research article in this area which has been published in the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA).

2017 recipient Laura Shane-McWhorter with APhA President Jean Venable "Kelly" R. Goode

Evaluation Criteria
The primary author (first and/or corresponding author) must be a member of APhA. The paper must represent original research and have been published in JAPhA within two calendar years prior to the screening deadline.

The Screening Committee will evaluate papers based upon the following criteria (not in rank order):

• Potential of the paper to translate clinical science or practice based investigations into practice
• Quality of the science (quality factors may include but are not limited to: adequate sample size, use of control groups, statistical analysis, research is not purely descriptive, research includes an evaluation component etc)
• The research should describe a rigorous evaluation of a well designed patient care intervention or practice based initiative
• The research is original and innovative while being founded in existing literature and/or theory
• The research has had or is likely to have a significant impact on practice, the profession or medication use


Nomination/Screening Process
In association with the Editor of JAPhA, a Screening Committee comprised of members of the Clinical Sciences Section of the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science will screen all eligible papers published in JAPhA in the previous two years and select and submit three (3) finalists to the APhA-APRS Awards Committee by the screening deadline (September 15).

Selection Process
The selection of the recipient is made by the APhA-APRS Awards Committee.

Nature of Award
The nature of the Award presented at the APhA Annual Meeting will consist of an engraved plaque for each author of the selected paper. The primary author also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past Recipients

2007  Barry Bunting
2008  Lord V. Sarino
2009  Joseph P. Vande Griend
2010  Lourdes G. Planas, Kimberly M. Crosby, Kimberly D. Mitchell, and Kevin C. Farmer
2011  Bijal M. Shah, Gireesh V. Gupchup, Matthew E. Borrego, Dennis W. Raisch, and Katherine K. Knapp
2012  Cameron A. Winfrey, Sara Wortman, Stacey Frede, Natalie Kunze, Wayne F. Conrad, and Pamela C. Heaton
2013  Not presented
2014  Daniel R. Touchette, Andrew L. Masica, Rowena J. Dolor, Glen T. Schumock, Young Ku Choi, Yoonsang Kim, and Scott R. Smith
2015  Lourdes G. Planas, Kimberly M. Crosby, Kevin C. Farmer, and Donald L. Harrison
2016 Heidi Luder, Stacey Frede, Jim Kirby, Kelly Epplen, Teresa Cavanaugh, Jill Boone, Wayne Conrad, Pamela Heaton, and Diane Kuhlmann
2017 Laura Shane-McWhorter, Carrie McAdam-Marx, Leslie Lenert, Marta Petersen, Sarah Woolsey, Jeffrey M. Coursey, Thomas C. Whittaker, Christian Hyer, Deb LaMarche, Patricia Carroll, and Libbey Chuy
Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content