Wiederholt Prize

Share This Page
Wiederholt Prize for Best Published Paper Award for Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences (ESAS)
The APhA Best Published Paper Award for Economic, Social, and Administrative Sciences was established in 1996. In 2002, it was renamed the Wiederholt Prize in honor of Joseph B. Wiederholt, PhD (1949-2001). Dr. Wiederholt was the first recipient of the award and a professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The purpose of the award is to recognize the best published paper in the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (JAPhA), describing original investigation in the area of economic, social, or administrative sciences related to pharmacy.

2017 recipient Brandon J. Patterson with APhA President Jean-Venable "Kelly" R. Goode

Evaluation Criteria
The primary author must be an APhA Member. The paper need not have been presented before the Association. The paper must represent original research, and must have been published in JAPhA within two calendar years prior to the screening deadline (September 1 of the year prior to the presentation of the award.) Papers will be evaluated based upon the quality of the science and translation of the research to the practice of pharmacy.

Nomination/Screening Process
The ESAS Section Officers of APhA-APRS will screen all ESAS-related articles published in JAPhA, and select and submit finalists to the APhA-APRS Awards Committee by the screening deadline.

Selection Process
The selection is made by the APhA-APRS Awards Committee.

Nature of Award
The award, presented at the APhA Annual meeting, consists of bookends and an engraved plaque for the primary author of the selected paper, plus an engraved plaque for each of the associated authors, if any. The primary author also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past Recipients

1997  Jon C. Schommer and Joseph B. Wiederholt
1998  Bruce L. Lambert
1999  Folakemi T. Odedina, Charles D. Hepler, Richard Segal, and M. David Miller
2000  Scott R. Smith and Duane M. Kirking
2001  Caroline A. Gaither
2002  Julie M. Ganther and David H. Kreling
2003  Dale Christensen, Nancy Neil, William E. Fassett, David H. Smith, Garth Holmes, and Andy Stergachis
2004  Carole W. Cranor and Dale D. Christensen
2005  Elizabeth A. Chrischilles
2006  Bonnie L. Svarstad
2007  Bruce A. Berger
2008  Nancy F. Fjortoft
2009  Barry A. Bunting, Benjamin H. Smith, and Susan E. Sutherland
2010  Elizabeth A. Flynn, Kenneth N. Barker, Bruce A. Berger, Kimberly B. Lloyd, and Patrick D. Brackett
2011  Beth A. Martin, Ruth H. Bruskiewitz, and Betty A. Chewning
2012  Melinda E. Kozminski, Rachelle Busby, Melissa Somma McGivney, Patricia M. Klatt, Stephanie R. Hackett, and Joel H. Merenstein
2013  Carole Kimberlin, Allison Newland Jamison, Stephan Linden, and Almut G. Winterstein
2014  Bonnie L. Svarstad, Jane Morley Kotchen, Theresa I. Shireman, Roger L. Brown, Stephanie Y. Crawford, Jeanine K. Mount, Pamela A. Palmer, Eva M. Vivian, and Dale A. Wilson
2015  David A. Holdford and Timothy J. Inocencio
2016 Pamela Heaton, Heidi Luder, and Namita Tundia
2017 Brandon J. Patterson, Peter J. Kaboli, Traviss Tubbs, Bruce Alexander, and Brian C. Lund


Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content