The Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research

Share This Page
The Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research

The Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research recognizes an individual(s) for encouraging research by peers, students, fellows, residents and others via publications or by directing research, serving as a preceptor, or mentoring in any discipline of the pharmaceutical sciences. This award is considered one of the three most prestigious APhA scientific awards and is presented every three years. The award was established in 1962 as the Stimulation of Research Award and was renamed The Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research in 2002 in recognition of the distinguished scientific and administrative career of Dr. Varro “Tip” Tyler (1926-2001).


APhA President Jean-Venable "Kelly" R. Goode with 2017
recipient William Douglas Figg, Sr.



Evaluation Criteria
The nominee must have stimulated research in others as evidenced by his/her ability to motivate and inspire by performance or counsel and the ability to lead others toward outstanding accomplishments and effective careers in his/her particular field. Quantity and quality of research stimulated by the nominee in the individuals trained or mentored by the nominee will be given important consideration. This award is not restricted to members of the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS) but recipients must be an APhA Member. The research area for which the award is presented will rotate among the disciplines represented by the APhA-APRS sections. In 2017, the award will recognize contributions in the area of basic sciences. Self-nominations are allowed and encouraged for this award. Remington Honor Medalists are not eligible.

Nomination Process
APhA publishes a call for nominations for The Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research. The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination. The nomination is to include the following items:
• Nomination typed on official form available from APhA, if submitting via mail; not required for online submissions
• A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
• Three (3) supporting letters from scientists who are qualified to judge the significance of the nominee’s stimulation of research should be sent with the nomination. Letters are to address the nominee’s worthiness to receive the award and include: (a) the major contributions of the nominee to the research ideas, attitudes, habits and achievements of others; and (b) examples (primarily of published works) of accomplishments stemming from those contributions.
• Sample article reprints of outstanding research stimulated by the nominee.
• To the extent known, a list of individuals (students, graduate students, residents, fellows, etc.) whose research was stimulated or directed by the nominee, or who were directly trained, precepted, or mentored by the nominee should be included. This list should mention the individuals’ current area of research or significant published articles inspired or stimulated by the nominee.
• A current full CV

Selection Process
The final selection is made by the APhA-APRS Awards Committee based upon a review of the recommendations from the appropriate section officers.

Nature of Award
The award, presented at the APhA Annual meeting consists of an engraved plaque. The recipient also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past Recipients
1962 Glen L. Jenkins
1963 Rudolph H. Blythe
1964 Arthur E. Schwarting
1965 Arthur H. Uhl
1966 W. Lewis Nobles
1967 Takeru Higuchi
1968 Daniel H. Murray
1969 Walter Fred Enz
1972 Bernard B. Brodie
1976 Milo Gibaldi
1981 Edward R. Garrett
1983 John G. Wagner
1986 Michael A. Schwartz
1988 George Zografi
1993 Jerry L. McLaughlin
1995 Jerome J. Schentag
1996 T. Donald Rucker
1999 Loyd V. Allen, Jr.
2002 William E. Evans
2005 Mickey Smith
2008 Robert W. Brueggemeier
2011 Raman Venkataramanan
2014 Stephen W. Schondelmeyer
2017 William Douglas Figg, Sr.

Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content