H.A.B. Dunning Award

Share This Page
The purpose of the award is to recognize an exemplary contribution to APhA and the practice of pharmacy by a pharmaceutical manufacturer, provider of support products or service, or other entities such as wholesalers, chain corporations, etc. The H.A.B. Dunning Award was established in 1982 to honor the former Chairman of the Board of Hynson, Westcott and Dunning of Baltimore, Maryland, who as a longstanding APhA leader was instrumental in the funding and building of the APhA headquarters building in Washington, DC.

2017 recipient Pfizer Inc. representative Lou Dallago with APhA President Jean-Venable "Kelly" R. Goode

Submit a nomination for the 2018 H.A.B. Dunning Award

Evaluation Criteria 
The nominee for the H.A.B. Dunning Award must have made a contribution or contributions to APhA and the practice of pharmacy in a calendar year preceding the presentation of the award. The contribution(s) shall fall in one or more of the following areas:

• Professional and consumer communications
• Pharmacy practice support
• Pharmacy education support
• Sales policy to pharmacists
• Marketing policies and philosophy
• New drug research and development
• Community Service involving pharmacists
• Innovative products and service
The selection criteria will be weighted so that contributions to APhA would be 40% and to contributions to the profession would be 60%. The recipient should have impacted the profession nationally through their activities with APhA.
Nomination Process
The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: Award Nomination Form. The deadline for nominations is September 1. The nomination is to include the following items:
• A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
• Letters of recommendation are optional; two (2) letters are preferred with a maximum of six (6) accepted
Selection Process
The selection is made by the APhA Board of Trustees based upon careful review of complete nominations.
Nature of Award
The award presented at the APhA Annual Meeting consists of a jade crystal etching on a walnut base bearing the likeness of H.A.B. Dunning.


Past Recipients:

1984  Lederle Laboratories
1985  McNeil Pharmaceutical
1986  Hoechst Roussel Pharmaceuticals Inc.
1987  Parke Davis
1988  Marion Laboratories, Inc.
1989  Eli Lilly and Company
1990  SmithKline Beecham Pharmaceuticals
1991  Merck Sharp & Dohme
1992  Glaxo, Inc
1993  Searle
1994  Du Pont Pharma
1995  Ciba-Geigy Corporation
1996  Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
1997  Amgen Inc.
1998  The Knoll Pharmaceutical Company
1999  Wyeth-Ayerst Global Pharmaceuticals
2000  Syncor International Corporation
2001  McNeil Consumer Healthcare
2002  Aventis Pharmaceuticals
2003  Pfizer, Inc.
2004  GlaxoSmithKline
2005  Purdue Pharma, L.P.
2006  Johnson & Johnson-Merck Consumer Pharmaceuticals Co. and McNeil Consumer Healthcare
2007  Tyco Healthcare/Mallinckrodt
2008  Merck & Co. Inc.
2009  Procter & Gamble
2010  VaxServe, a sanofi pasteur company
2011  Cephalon, Inc.
2012  Novartis Vaccines and Diagnostics, Inc.
2013  The Walgreen Company
2014  Cardinal Health and the Cardinal Health Foundation
2015  CVS Health
2016  Kroger Co. 
2017  Pfizer Inc. 

<< Return to Main Awards Page

Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content