Honorary Membership

Share This Page
Honorary Membership in the American Pharmacists Association is conferred by the APhA Board of Trustees upon individuals, either within the profession of pharmacy or outside of it, whose activities and achievements have had a significant impact upon public health, the profession, and its practitioners.

2017 recipient Eileen Gans (left) with APhA President Jean-Venable "Kelly" R. Goode


Nominate a colleague for 2018 APhA Honorary Membership

Evaluation Criteria
Individuals nominated for Honorary Membership shall meet the following criteria:

• Individual is not a pharmacist or is a non-American pharmacist
• Individual has documented activity that has significantly impacted public health, created or supported the expanding role of pharmacists, profession or Association
• Awarding of the designation to the individual will advance the Association’s public perception
• The Board of Trustees may make exceptions to the above criteria, except for the second bullet
Nomination Process
The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: Award Nomination Form. The deadline for nominations is September 1.
The nomination is to include the following items:

• A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
• Letters of recommendation are optional; two (2) letters are preferred with a maximum of six (6) accepted
• A current CV or detailed resume

Selection Process
The selection is made by the APhA Board of Trustees based upon careful review of complete nominations.

Nature of Award
The honor, first presented in 1856 and conferred at each APhA Annual Meeting, consists of a plaque, a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.


Past Honorees:
1924  Dr. I.M. Kolthoff, USA
1927  Mr. John Cameron, Great Britain
1929  Mr. Juan Manuel Noriega, Mexico
1930  Mr. Armando S. Parado, Chile
1932  Dr. George Urdang, USA
1937  Dr. A.U.R. Wasicky, Austria
1943  Mr. Carl T. Durham, USA
1955  Dr. George D. Armstrong, USA
1962  Vice President Hubert Humphrey, USA
1962  Sir Hugh N. Linstead, Great Britain
1963  Mr. George P. Larrick, USA
1965  Dr. Svend A. Schou, Denmark
1966  Mr. Gen-Ichiro Fukuchi, Japan
1967  Mr. Alberto Garcia Ortiz, Spain
1967  Mr. Winton D. Rankin, USA
1969  Dr. J.H.M.A. Winters, The Netherlands
1969  Dr. John C. Turnbull, Canada
1971  Mr. Kozaburo Takeda, Japan
1971  Dr. Morizo Ishidate, Japan
1972  Dr. Max Tishler, USA
1973  Dr. John C. Weaver, USA
1975  Mr. Frederick M. Garfield, USA
1976  Mr. Desmond Lewis, Great Britain
1978  Dr. Arthur Ulene, USA
1979  Dr. Charles C. Edwards, USA
1979  Mr. C. Joseph Stetler, USA
1980  Mr. Dan Kushner, USA
1981  Dr. Mary Kelly Mullane, USA
1982  Dr. Hector Zayas-Bazan y Perdomo, USA
1983  Dr. Mark Novitch, USA
1983  Dr. Frank Field, USA
1985  Dr. Charles A. LeMaistre, USA
1986  Dr. Arthur Hull Hayes, Jr., USA
1987  Mr. J.H.M. Martens, The Netherlands
1987  Dr. Shoji Shibata, Japan
1989  Mr. Stanley Siegelman, USA
1990  Dr. C. Everett Koop, USA
1991  Senator David H. Pryor, USA
1992  Paul. L. O’Brien, Esquire, USA
1994  Marie Schwartz, USA
1995  Dr. David Satcher, USA
1995  Mr. Thomas R. Fulda, USA
1996  Mr. Leroy C. Fevang, Canada
1996  Dr. Nils-Olaf Strandqvist, Sweden
1997  Rep. Henry A. Waxman, USA
1998  John Ferguson, OBE
1999  Mr. José Manuel Cárdenas, Mexico
1999  Mr. Dieter Steinbach, Germany
2000  Senator Edward M. Kennedy, USA
2000  Mr. John P. Miall, USA
2000  Dr. Donna E. Shalala, USA
2001  Mr. David G. Schulke, USA
2002  Peter J. Kielgast, Denmark
2003  Not awarded
2004  Richard H. Carmona, USA
2005  Edward G. Feldmann, USA
2005  A.J.M. (Ton) Hoek, The Netherlands
2006  William L. Atkinson, USA
2006  Jean Parrot, France
2007  Peter M. Fernandes, USA
2008  Ann Lewis, England
2008  Buck A. Rhodes, USA
2009  Ken Leibowitz, USA
2010  Dr. Joel V. Brill, USA
2010  Dr. Mark B. McClellan, USA
2011  Dr. Jeff Poston, Canada
2012  CAPT S. Miles Rudd, USA
2013  Frank Bennicasa, USA
2014  Benjamin Jacobs, USA and N. Lee Rucker, USA
2015  Roger Lea Williams, USA
2016  Kristen G. Betts, USA
2017  Eileen Gans, USA

<< Return to Main Awards Page

Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content