Hugo H. Schaefer Award

Share This Page
The Hugo H. Schaefer Award was established by the American Pharmacists Association in 1964 to honor the long-time APhA Treasurer, Dr. Hugo H. Schaefer, for a lifetime of contributions to the profession of pharmacy and in particular for his service to APhA. The purpose of the award is to recognize an individual who has made outstanding voluntary contributions to society as well as to the profession of pharmacy and APhA.
2017 recipient Clark H. Gustafson with APhA President Jean-Venable "Kelly" R. Goode

Nominate a colleague for the 2018 Hugo H. Schaefer Award

The nominee must be an APhA Member who has made outstanding voluntary contributions to society, the profession of pharmacy and APhA. Remington Medalists are not eligible.
Nomination Process
The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: Award Nomination Form. The deadline for nominations is September 1.
The nomination is to include the following items:
  • A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
  • Letters of recommendation are optional; two (2) letters are preferred with a maximum of six (6) accepted
  • A current CV or detailed resumé
Selection Process
The selection is made by the APhA Board of Trustees based upon careful review of complete nominations.
Nature of Award
The award, presented at the APhA Annual Meeting, consists of a medal bearing the likeness of Hugo H. Schaefer mounted on a wooden base, which is inscribed with the recipient’s name and date of presentation. The recipient also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.


Past Recipients:

1964  Hugo H. Schaefer
1965  Hubert H. Humphrey
1966  William S. Apple
1967  Wallace Werble
1969  E. Claiborne Robins
1971  Harry C. Shirkey, MD
1973  Willard B. Simmons
1974  Gaylord A. Nelson
1976  Philip R. Lee, MD
1978  Arthur G. Zupko
1979  Grover C. Bowles
1980  Jere E. Goyan
1982  Adela Schneider
1983  Joseph A. Oddis
1984  George B. Griffenhagen
1985  Edwin A. Mande
1986  William J. Edwards
1987  Joseph D. Williams
1988  Robert C. Johnson
1989  Samuel W. Kidder
1990  James B. Powers
1991  Jacob W. Miller
1992  Bob Gude
1993  William J. Grosz
1994  Paul G. Rogers
1995  Michael A. Schwartz
1996  Mary Munson Runge
1997  Linda F. Golodner
1998  Herbert S. Carlin
1999  Louis M. Sesti
2000  John W. Hasty
2001  Fred T. Mahaffey
2002  Jean Paul Gagnon
2003  R. Timothy Webster
2004  Daniel A. Hussar
2005  Carlo Michelotti
2006  Joseph G. Valentino
2007  J. Lyle Bootman
2008  Jordan L. Cohen
2009  Henry Lewis III
2010  Gary W. Kadlec
2011  Thomas R. Temple
2012  Jeffrey N. Baldwin
2013  Robert L. Day
2014  Leonard L. Edloe
2015  Baeteena M. Black
2016  Bruce R. Canaday
2017  Clark H. Gustafson

<< Return to Main Awards Page


Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content