APhA-APRS Research Achievement Award

Share This Page

The award, offered annually, is intended to recognize and encourage outstanding, meritorious achievement in any of the pharmaceutical sciences. Contributions to be recognized by this award will be in the areas of basic pharmaceutical, clinical, and economic, social, and administrative sciences (ESAS). The APhA Research Achievement Award was first established in 1961 as six separate awards, each recognizing outstanding, meritorious achievement in six disciplines of pharmaceutical sciences. Since 1995, these awards have been consolidated into a single annual award.


2016 recipient Myron (Mike) Jacobson with APhA President
Lawrence "L.B." Brown

Nominate a colleague for the 2018 APhA Research Achievement Award in the Pharmaceutical Sciences! 

The nominee must have accomplished outstanding research and must have published reports in the scientific professional literature which can be used as criterion in judging an individual’s contributions within a given category. This award is not restricted to members of the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS), but the recipient must be an APhA Member. Eligibility for the award will rotate among the disciplines represented by the APhA-APRS sections on an annual basis. In 2018, the award will recognize contributions in the area of Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences. Self-nominations are allowed and encouraged for this award. Remington Medalists are not eligible for the award. Applications will be evaluated based upon the following criteria (listed alphabetically; not in rank order):

• Established “stream of research”
• International recognition
• Leadership and other recognitions
• New concepts/innovative research in pharmaceutical science
• Utilization/implementation of research by the profession, research community and other disciplines

Nomination Process
The responsibility for nominating recipients of the award is rotated among the three sections of APhA-APRS. In addition, any individual may nominate an eligible candidate. The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination. The deadline for nominations is September 1.

The nomination is to include the following items:
• A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
• Three (3) supporting letters from scientists who are qualified to judge the pharmaceutical significance of the nominee’s research record should be sent with the nominations. Letters are to address the nominee’s worthiness to receive the award and include: (a) the major research contributions of the nominee, and (b) at least two major examples of published research
• Sample article reprints of the nominee’s most outstanding work
• A current full CV

Selection Process
The selection of the recipient is made by the APhA-APRS Awards Committee.

Nature of Award
The award, presented at the APhA Annual Meeting, consists of an engraved plaque. The recipient also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA

Past Recipients
1962 Joseph H. Burckhalter, John E. Christian, Ole Gisvold, Takeru Higuchi,E. Leong Way
1963 Bernard R. Baker, Einar Brochmann Hanssen, Edward R. Garrett,Gordon H. Svoboda, Lawrence C. Weaver
1964 Takeru Higuchi, Tom S. Miya, Taito O. Soine, James M. Sprague,Joseph V. Swintosky
1965 S. Morris Kupchan, Lloyd C. Miller, Edward E. Smissman, Ewart A. Swinyard, Dale E. Wurster
1966 John H. Biel, Joseph P. Buckley, William J. Mader, Eino Nelson,Varro E. Tyler, Jr.
1967 Karl H. Beyer, Jr., Alfred Burger, John C. Craig, Alfred N. Martin,Frank H. Wiley
1968 Morris E. Auerbach, Allan H. Conney, Sidney Riegelman, Joseph Sam,William I. Taylor
1969 Albert Q. Butler, Gerhard Levy, Egil Ramstad, Corwin H. Ransch, David H. Tedeschi
1970 William O. Foye, Edward R. Garrett, William I. Higuchi, Sidney Riegelman, Monroe Wall
1972 Henry Rapoport, Lewis S. Schanker
1973 Arnold Becket, Klaus Bienmann
1974 Norman R. Farnsworth, Karl Folkers
1975 Erminio Costa, John L. Lach, Ernest G. Wollish
1976 Heinz G. Floss, Everett May
1977 Lewis S. Harris, Jens T. Carstensen
1978 Daniel Banes, Robert W. Hammel, Eugene C. Jorgensen
1979 Leon Lachman, Wayne M. Levin
1980 Kenneth A. Connors, Lester A. Mitscher, Philip S. Portoghese, Mickey C. Smith
1982 Jack L. Beal, Leslie Z. Benet, John L. Neumeyer, Albert I. Wertheimer
1984 Lester Chafetz, David A. Knapp, John P. N. Rosazza, John G. Wagner
1985 Sidney J. Stohs, Donald T. Witiak
1986 Jean Paul Gagnon
1987 Klaus G. Florey, Kenner C. Rice
1988 Bonnie L. Svarstad
1989 Nicholas Bodor
1990 John M. Cassady, Lee Timothy Grady
1991 Charles D. Hepler, Joseph R. Robinson
1992 Ho-Leung Fung, Laurence H. Hurley
1993 James T. Stewart
1994 Garnet E. Peck, Dev S. Pathak (ESAS)
1995 Richard A. Glennon (Basic)
1996 William E. Evans (Clinical)
1997 J. Lyle Bootman (ESAS)
1998 Not awarded (Basic)
1999 Milap C. Nahata (Clinical)
2000 Dale B. Christensen (ESAS)
2001 Ronald T. Borchardt (Basic)
2002 Leslie Hendeles (Clinical)
2003 Duane M. Kirking (ESAS)
2004 James C. Price (Basic)
2005 James Cloyd (Clinical)
2006 Stephen W. Schondelmeyer (ESAS)
2007 Ronald J. Sawchuk (Basic)
2008 Barry L. Carter (Clinical)
2009 JoLaine R. Draugalis (ESAS)
2010 Indra K. Reddy (Basic)
2011 Not Presented
2012 Carole L. Kimberlin (ESAS)
2013 Stuart C. Porter (Basic)
2014 Marie Chisholm-Burns (Clinical)
2015 Sean D. Sullivan (ESAS)
2016 Myron (Mike) Jacobson (Basic)


Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content