Hubert H. Humphrey Award

Share This Page
The Humphrey Award, named for the noted pharmacist, long-time APhA Member, and public servant (senator from Minnesota and U.S. Vice President) was established in 1978 to recognize APhA Members who have made major contributions in government and/or legislative service.

APhA PAC Board of Governors Chairman Steve Firman with 2017 recipient Rep John Forbes (D-IA)


Nominate a colleague for the 2018 Hubert H. Humphrey Award


The nominee must be an APhA Member who is an elected or appointed official and who has served or is serving in government regulatory or legislative arena. Nominations must be made by an APhA Member. Remington Medalists are not eligible.

Nomination Process
The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: Award Nomination Form. The deadline for nominations is September 1.

The online nomination submission is to include the following items:
• A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
• Letters of recommendation are optional; two (2) letters are preferred with a maximum of six (6) accepted
• A current CV or detailed resumé

Selection Process
The selection is made by the APhA Board of Trustees based upon careful review of complete nominations.

Nature of Award
The Award consists of a medal bearing the likeness of Hubert H. Humphrey, on a polished metal pedestal mounted on a marble base, which is inscribed with the recipient’s name and date of presentation. The award is presented during the APhA Political Leadership Reception. The recipient also receives a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past Recipients:

1978  W. Byron Rumford
1979  William L. Long
1980  George H. Ryan
1981  Tim Von Dohlen
1982  Mario Obledo
1983  W. Roy Smith
1984  Fred Lippman
1985  Don M. Newman
1987  Mickey Leland
1988  Everett A. Kelly
1989  Frank Watson
1992  Donald R. Gronewold
1993  Aaron E. Henry
1994  Harvey B. Morgan
1995  Bill K. Brewster
1996  Norman Garfinkel
1997  Leo R. Blais
1998  Frank M. Pelly
1999  Robert J. Osterhaus
2000  Leticia R. Van de Putte
2001  B.E. “Bobby” Parham
2002  Calvin J. Anthony
2003  Rep. Stephen R. Ehardt
2004  David R. Work
2005  James Allen Main
2006  Percy Malone
2007  Vicki Schmidt
2008  David Shepard
2009  Michael A. Pastrick
2010  Eddie M. Madden
2011  Wendall F. Gaston
2012  Stephen W. Schondelmeyer
2013  Bob Greenwood
2014  Earl L. "Buddy" Carter
2015  Brian J. Isetts
2016  Larry D. Wagenknecht
2017  John Forbes

<< Return to Main Awards Page

Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content