Good Government Pharmacist-of-the-Year Award

Share This Page
The award, established in 1990, recognizes an individual pharmacist who actively contributes to the community through his or her involvement in the political process.

PAC Board of Governors Chairman, Steve Firman with 2017 recipient Michael Blaire


Nominate a colleague for the 2018 Good Government Pharmacist-of-the-Year Award

The nominee must be a pharmacist who is a Member of APhA and a state pharmacy association. APhA and state association staff members, lobbyists, and state or federal officials are not eligible. The government affairs activity in which the nominee participated must have raised pharmacists’ awareness of the political process, improved the pharmacy profession and the political process, as well as improved service and education to the patient.

Nomination Process
The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: Award Nomination Form. The deadline for nominations is September 1.

The nomination is to include the following items:
• A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
• Letters of recommendation are optional; two (2) letters are preferred with a maximum of six (6) accepted
• A current CV or detailed resume

Selection Process
The selection is made by the APhA-PAC Board of Governors based upon careful review of complete nominations.

Nature of Award
The recipient will receive a crystal eagle sculpture and a U.S. flag previously flown over the U.S. Capitol building. The recipient will also receive the following: a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA, and five (5) Political Leadership Reception tickets. The award is presented during the APhA Political Leadership Reception held during the APhA Annual Meeting.

Past Recipients:
1992  Michael A. Pastrick
1993  Michael D. Pflughoeft
1994  S. Mark Hobbs
1995  Cynthia L.W. Warriner
1996  Joseph E. McSoley
1997  Jerry Karbeling
1998  Nancy A. Alvarez
1999  Not awarded
2000  Paige Clark
2001  Timothy Neal Bishop
2002  Richard N. Herrier
2003  Brian Kaatz
2004  Theresa L. Wells-Tolle
2005  Susan L. Sutter
2006  Matthew C. Osterhaus
2007  Jennifer Fix
2008  Cynthia J. Boyle
2009  LeAnn Causey Boyd
2010  Norman P. Tomaka
2011  Betsy Meredith Elswick
2012  Trish Rippetoe Freeman
2013  Not presented
2014  Not presented
2015  Sandra Leal
2016  Nicki L. Hilliard
2017  Michael Blaire

<< Return to Main Awards Page

Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content