Ebert Prize

Share This Page
Ebert Prize
The Ebert Prize, established in 1873, is the oldest pharmacy award in existence in the United States. The award is for the best essay or written communication containing original investigation of a medicinal substance in the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences.


2017 recipient Magnus Olander with APhA President Jean-Venable "Kelly" R. Goode

Evaluation Criteria
Awardees need not be members of the American Pharmacists Association for consideration. The paper selected for the award must have been published during the calendar year preceding the selection. In the case of papers authored by two or more persons, it must be determined which author conceived, directed, and coordinated the research. Should two or more authors have essentially equal contributions, it is necessary to determine which person initiated the idea, and which pursued it more vigorously.


Nomination/Selection Process
Since 1987, the award recipient(s) has/have been selected by the APhA-APRS Awards Committee. Steps in the selection process are: In mid-October, the editor of the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences selects five (5) or six (6) articles from the previous October through September issues of the journal and forwards them to the Editorial Advisory Board, which selects the best two or three articles. The articles are rated by the Editorial Advisory Board are then sent to the APhA-APRS Awards Committee for selection of the eventual recipient(s) of the best article.


Nature of Award
The award consists of a silver medal and an engraved plaque for the primary author of the selected article, plus a plaque for each of the associate authors or “honored co-authors,” if any. The primary author will receive a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.


Past Recipients
(for the past 20 years only):

1993  Štefan Baláz, Michael Wiese, and Joachim K. Seydel
1994  Marcel H. Bickel and Josy Clausen
1995  David A. Edwards and Robert Langer
1996  Samir Mitragotri, Daniel Blankschtein, David A. Edwards, and Robert Langer
1997  Per Artursson, Kristina Luthman, Katrin Palm, Gert Strandlund, and Anna-Lena Ungell
1998  Robert G. Strickley and Bradley D. Anderson
1999  Richard P. Batycky, David A. Edwards, Justin Hanes, and Robert Langer
2000  Susan K. Lum and Wendy C. Duncan-Hewitt
2001  George Zografi and Ziang Zhang
2002  Michael H. Abraham, Yuan H. Zhao, Joelle Le, Anne Hersey, Peter J. Eddershae, Chris N. Luscombe, Darko Boutina, Gordon Beck, Brad Sherbone, Ian Cooper and James A. Platts
2003  Patrick Poulin and Frank-Peter Theil
2004  Christopher J. Roberts with Richard T. Darrington and Maureen B. Whitley
2005  Nair Rodriguez-Hornedo and Denette K. Murphy
2006  Agam R. Sheth, Deliang Zhou, Francis X. Muller, David J.W Grant
2007  Renuka Thirumangalathu, Sampathkumar Krishnan, David Brems, Theodore Randolph, and John Carpenter
2008  Miki Katoh, Toshiro Sawada, Yoshinori Soeno, Miki Nakajima, Chise Tateno, Katsutoshi Yoshizato, and Tsuyoshi Yokoi
2009  Lloyd G. Tillman, Richard S. Geary, and Gregory E. Hardee
2010  Raj Badhan, Jeffrey Penny, Aleksandra Galetin, and J. Brian Houston
2011  Amit S. Kalgutkar, Kosea S. Frederick, Jonathan Chupka, Bo Feng, Sarah Kempshall, Rochelle J. Mireles, Katherine S. Fenrier, and Matthew D. Troutman
2012  Jared Baird, Bernard Van Eerdenbrugh, and Lynne S. Taylor
2013  Leslie Z. Benet and Maribel Reyes
2014  Sandeep Kumar, Mark A. Mitchell, Bonita Rup and Satish K. Singh
2015  Vivian Bi, Vibha Jawa, Marisa K. Joubert, Arunan Kaliyaperumal, Catherine Eakin, Karen Richmond, Oscar Pan, Jilin Sun, Martha Hokom, Theresa J. Goletz, Jette Wypych, Lei Zhou, Bruce A. Kerwin, Linda O. Narhi, and Taruna  Arora
2016 Christoph Thiel, Ute hofmann, Sebastian Zellmer, Rold Gebhardt, Ahmed Ghallab, Jan Hengstler, Sebastian Schneckener, Markus Krauss, Tobias Kanacher, Lars Kupfer
2017 Magnus Olander, Jacek R. Wisniewski, Par Matsson, Patrik Lundquist, and Per Artursson


Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content