Distinguished New Practitioner Award

Share This Page
The Distinguished New Practitioner Award was established in 2010 to recognize an individual new practitioner who has demonstrated distinctive achievements in mentorship, service, and commitment to the profession of pharmacy.

2017 recipient Chelsea M. Anderson (left) with APhA President Jean-Venable "Kelly" R. Goode

Evaluation Criteria

The nominee must be an APhA member pharmacist within his/her first five years after graduation. Nominees must be a New Practitioner in good standing at the time of nomination and are eligible to receive the award as an Active Pharmacist Member during the subsequent Annual Meeting.Self-nominations are allowed for this award.  Applications will be evaluated based upon the following criteria (listed alphabetically, not in rank order):
• APhA-related activities (e.g. leadership, committees, editorial advisory board member, speaker, publication contributor/reviewer, etc.)
• Community service
• Contributions to the development of student pharmacists (e.g. serving as a New Practitioner Mentor and/or assisting in APhA-ASP related activities as a preceptor, etc.)
• Impact on the profession through singular or multiple achievements (e.g. innovation, pharmacy practice, research, scholarly activities, etc.)
• Participation in other professional activities
Nomination Process
The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: Award Nomination Form. The deadline for nominations is November 1. The nomination is to include the following items:
• A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
• One (1) letter of recommendation is required (letters from student pharmacists are accepted); a maximum of two (2) letters accepted
• A current CV or detailed résumé
Selection Process
The selection is made by the APhA New Practitioner Advisory Committee and approved by the APhA Board of Trustees. 
Nature of Award
The Distinguished New Practitioner Award will be presented at the APhA Annual Meeting and consists of a laminated plaque, a $500 honorarium, and a complimentary new practitioner meeting registration.

Past Recipients:

2011  Catherine H. Kuhn
2012  David R. Bright
2013  Ashley Stubblefield Crumby
2014  Brent Reed
2015  Gretchen K. Garofoli
2016  Veronica Vernon
2017  Chelsea M. Anderson

<< Return to Main Awards Page

Bottom Center Aligned


Related Content