Select One That Best Describes you


APhA Foundation and NASPA Honor October, November and December Bowl of Hygeia Winners

Share This Page
The Bowl of Hygeia is sponsored by the APhA Foundation and NASPA and is awarded by participating state pharmacy associations with support from Boehringer Ingelheim.


Washington, DC – The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Foundation and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA) announced the October, November and December honorees of the Bowl of Hygeia. The annual awards recognize civic and community leadership among pharmacists. The Bowl of Hygeia is sponsored by the APhA Foundation and NASPA and is awarded by participating state pharmacy associations with support from Boehringer Ingelheim.

In October, November and December, eight state associations presented their awards. The honorees include:

  1. Eric B. Belldina – honored by the West Virigina Pharmacists Association (WVPA)
    Belladina, of Masontown, WV, is a past president and serves on the Board of Directors of the West Virginia Pharmacists Association. He is also a member of the National Community Pharmacists Association. Belldina serves on the Masontown City Council and is president of the Masontown Fire Department.
  2. George L. Bowersox – honored by the New Hampshire Pharmacists Association (NHPA)
    Bowersox, of Hudson, NH, has served the profession of pharmacy for many years. He is a member of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) Committee on Resolution and Committee on Law enforcement/Legislation. He served NH Board of Pharmacy as commissioner, president, vice president and treasurer. He is the Chairman and Founder of the NH Board of Pharmacy Subcommittee on PIC Requirements/ Duties and a member of the Committee on Workload Issues in Pharmacy. Bowersox also served the Joint Pharmaceutical Formulary as chairman and member, on the Policy Stakeholders Council for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) and as a Committee Member of the Ad Hoc Committee for Electronic Prescription Monitoring.
  3. Franklin S. Breve – honored by the New Jersey Pharmacists Association (NJPhA)
    Breve, of Ventnor, NJ, is Treasurer of the New Jersey Academy of Consultant Pharmacists and the the Joint Board for Certification of Consultant Pharmacists. He is a Trustee of the New Jersey Pharmacists Association, a member of the member of the Joint Commission Long Term Care Professional and Technical Advisory Committee and a member of the New Jersey Coalition of Long Term Care Pharmacy Providers.
  4. Kelly S.M. Go – honored by the Hawaii Pharmacists Association (HPhA)
    Go, of Kaunakakai HI, serves at Kaunakakai Elementary School on the Community Council (SCC) and as a parent representative. She serves as a Molokai Health Foundation Board Member. She is a member of Molokai Baptist Church and an AWANA leader/secretary. Go has volunteered as a Molokai High Girls Cross Country Varsity coach.
  5. Joseph R. Kellogg – honored by the Nevada Bowl of Hygeia Committee
    Kellogg, of Henderson, NV, is president of the Bluffs Homeowners Association. He administers two scholarships for North Dakota State Pharmacy students (the Bob and Joe Kellogg Kappa Psi Scholarship). Kellogg served on the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy and as Editor for the Nevada Pharmacy Association.
  6. Beverly Lingerfeldt – honored by the North Carolina Association of Pharmacy (NCAP)
    Lingerfeldt, of Cary,NC, provides health screenings for local, community and state events. She volunteers with the Migrant Health Program through the Raleigh Baptist Association and with senior health fairs. She volunteered as a medical director for mission trips to Costa Rica, Mexico and Honduras. Lingerfeldt also participates in poison prevention programs at local daycare centers.
  7. Santa E. Nieves Rivera – honored by the Colegio de Farmaceuticos de Puerto Rico (CFPR)
    Nieves Rivera, of Bayamon, Puerto Rico, is Colegio de Farmaceuticos de Puerto Rico y Asociacion de Farmacias del la member, a Good Neighbor Pharmacy member and a founder of Fundacion Retinitis Pigmentosa de Puerto Rico.
  8. Michelle Valentine – honored by the Washington State Pharmacy Association (WSPA)
    Valentine, of Mukilteo, WA, is very active with the League of Women Voters of Snohomish County. She currently serves on their Board of Directors and as the KSER 90.7 FM community radio LWVSC program engineer/producer. She has previously served as president, 2nd vice president and publicity chair. Valentine is active with the Evergreen Unitarian Universalistic Fellowship, serving as the Greeter Chairman, Assimilation and Retention Subcommittee Chairman, Exit Interviewer and Book Discussion Chairman. She has also served as a Den Leader and Assistant Cub Master of Tilicum District, Cub Scouts, Pack 16 and as a Room Mother at Mukilteo Elementary and Olympic View Middle Schools.

Established in 1958, the Bowl of Hygeia Award recognizes pharmacists who possess outstanding records of civic leadership in their communities and encourages pharmacists to take active roles in the affairs of their respective communities. The award is presented annually by participating state pharmacist associations, including those in the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. In addition to service through their local, state and national pharmacy associations, award recipients have devoted their time, talent and resources to a wide variety of causes and community service.

The Bowl of Hygeia is the most widely recognized international symbol for the pharmacy profession and is considered one of the profession’s most prestigious awards. The Bowl of Hygeia has been associated with the pharmacy profession since as early as 1796 when the symbol was used on a coin minted for the Parisian Society of Pharmacy. The bowl represents a medicinal potion and the snake represents healing. Healing through medicine is precisely why the pharmacy profession has adopted the Bowl of Hygeia symbol.

For information about contributing to the Bowl of Hygeia awards program, contact the APhA Foundation at 202-429-7565 or info@aphafoundation.org.

About the American Pharmacists Association Foundation
The APhA Foundation is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the national professional society of pharmacists in the U.S. The APhA Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., works to design solutions to medication use problems in America. The APhA Foundation’s mission is to improve the quality of consumer health outcomes affected by pharmacy. For more information, please visit the APhA Foundation website www.aphafoundation.org/.

About the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations
The National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA) promotes leadership, sharing, learning, and policy exchange among pharmacy leaders in all 50 states and Washington, DC, and provides education and advocacy to support pharmacists, patients, and communities working together to improve public health. NASPA was founded in 1927 as the National Council of State Pharmacy Association Executives (NCSPAE). For more information, please visit the NASPA Web site www.naspa.us.



Ad Position: 


Related Content